Skip Navigation

Vacancy Questions Preview

Vacancy Questions Preview

Grade: 09
* 1.GS-09. Choose one answer that best describes your education and/or experience as it pertains to the basic requirements for this position.
  1. I possess 2 full years of progressively higher level graduate education or master`s or equivalent graduate degree (such as an LL.B or J.D.).
  2. I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-07 level as described below.
  3. I possess a combination of graduate level education beyond the first year of progressive graduate study and appropriate experience that together meet the qualification requirements of this position.
  4. I do not meet any of the requirements as described above.


Required specialized experience at the GS-7 level is defined as practical application of market analysis and modeling tools in one or more energy markets.

Grade: 11
* 1.Choose one answer that best describes your education and/or experience as it pertains to the basic requirements for this position.
  1. I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-9 level as described below.
  2. I possess a Ph.D. or equivalent doctoral degree.
  3. I possess 3 full years of progressively higher level graduate education leading to a Ph.D. or equivalent doctoral degree.
  4. I do not meet any of the requirements as described above.


Required specialized experience at the GS-9 level is defined as one year of experience conducting comprehensive analysis of moderately complex or segments of highly complex and controversial energy market issues.

Grade: All Grades
* 1.I understand submission of supporting documentation, e.g., transcripts, DD 214, SF-50, may be required for this position. I also understand that my application will not be considered if the required supporting documentation is not submitted or is not submitted in accordance with the time frames indicated in the announcement.
  1. True
  2. False


* 2.Select the option that best reflects how you first became aware of this position.
  1. At a college job fair or professional organizational event
  2. Referral from a professional organization
  3. College placement office
  4. Referral from a state or local agency
  5. OPM 's USAJOBS job board
  6. Internet job board (other than USAJOBS)
  7. Magazine or newspaper advertisement
  8. Referral from another Federal agency or Federal employee
  9. Other


* 3.Have you developed models or processes using programming languages (C++, Visual Basic, Java) as part of your graduate course work requirement or as part of your work place job responsibility?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 4.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 5.Have you used SAS statistical analysis software to analyze data and develop statistical models as part of your graduate course work requirement, or as part of your work place job responsibility?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 6.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 7.Select all those responses that best describe your experience in using programming, statistical, computational and mathematical modeling software
  1. Programming in Advanced Excel (i.e., Programming Macros using Visual Basic).
  2. Modeling using a statistical software other than SAS, such as STATA, SPSS, TSP, RATS, and EViews.
  3. Performed at least one analysis using Simulation Software, such as @RISK and Crystal Ball.
  4. Performed at least one analysis using Linear Programming (LP) Models, Computable General Equilibrium (CGE) Models or Computational non-linear optimization models.
  5. Modeling/programming using a computer programming language C/C++, Java or SQL.
  6. None of the above.


* 8.Which of the following best characterizes your knowledge and experience related to data analysis?
  1. I have independently performed statistical analysis as part my school course work or my work place job responsibility.
  2. I have cleaned and prepared data set(s) from raw data for performing my statistical analyses as part my school course work or my work place job responsibility.
  3. I have developed and documented programs that process and analyze large data sets.
  4. I have programmed processes that use communications protocols to collect and analyze data from diverse sources.
  5. I have implemented data verification techniques to quality assure the results of my analysis as part my school course work or my work place job responsibility.
  6. None of the above.


* 9.Select all responses that best describe your knowledge of and/or experience related to Electricity.
  1. I have performed research projects on the physical electricity markets.
  2. I have performed research projects on financial derivatives based on electricity.
  3. I have researched the interactions between the electricity and the natural gas markets.
  4. I am interested in electricity markets, but am not familiar with the issues and policies related to the U.S. electricity markets.
  5. None of the above


* 10.Select all responses that best describe your knowledge of and/or experience related to the market rules and functioning of the U.S. Electricity markets.
  1. I have researched the market rules related to one or more of the ISO's/RTO's wholesale electricity markets.
  2. I have researched the inter-relationships between different parts of the wholesale electricity markets, such as capacity markets, energy markets, and ancillary services markets.
  3. I have analyzed the finances of participants in electricity markets.
  4. I have researched issues related to treatment of demand response and renewable energy.
  5. None of the above


* 11.5. Do you have experience analyzing issues pertinent to market competition and market concentration, and assessing the impacts of changes in market conditions (such as mergers and acquisitions, new supply and demand sources)?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 12.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 13.Have you written analytical reports or documents related to the gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries and/or energy or financial trading?
  1. True
  2. False


* 14.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 15.Select all statements that describe your experience in preparing written material.
  1. I have written parts of analytical reports related to the gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries and/or energy or financial trading for internal audiences (within an organization).
  2. I have written parts of analytical reports related to the gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries and/or energy or financial trading for external audiences (outside of an organization).
  3. I have written parts of briefing material(s) on policies, procedures, and/or technical information related to the gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries and/or energy and financial trading for a broad internal/external audience.
  4. I have written parts of issue papers and/or briefings related to the gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries and/or energy and financial trading for subject matter groups and or management officials at all levels of an organization
  5. I have routinely reviewed and edited my reports related to the gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries and/or energy and financial trading for accuracy, grammar, organization, and appropriateness for intended audiences prior to giving it to my supervisor(s) for review.
  6. None of the above.


* 16.Select the statement that best describes your contribution to the preparation of written products.
  1. I have reviewed and provided grammar, spelling, and organization edits to others' drafts in relation to the gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries.
  2. I have proofed documents related to the gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries specifically for technical accuracy.
  3. I have consolidated reports as they relate to the gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries from others into a final product.
  4. I have independently produced written products related to the gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries from start to finish.
  5. None of the above


* 17.1. Have you made oral presentations to natural gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries representatives, or energy or financial derivative securities trading industry members?
  1. True
  2. False


* 18.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 19.Select all responses that best describe your experience in communicating technical information related to the natural gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries, and energy and financial trading.
  1. I have presented technical information regarding the natural gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries and/or energy and financial trading to supervisors or co-workers.
  2. I have presented technical information related to the natural gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries and/or energy or financial trading to external industry representatives or other stakeholders.
  3. I have presented technical subject matter(s) related to natural gas, oil pipeline or electric utilities industries and/or energy or financial trading through Technical Workshop(s).
  4. I have made technical presentations on issue(s) related to natural gas, oil pipeline, electric utility issue(s), and/ or on energy or financial trading in industry, professional, or technical conference(s).
  5. None of the above.


* 20.Select the responses that describe your experience communicating orally.
  1. I have interviewed or questioned others to gather needed information.
  2. I have provided information to others orally to defend my / my team�s position.
  3. I have given brief presentations or updates at meetings (e.g. pre-filing, staff meetings).
  4. I have discussed and explained material that may have been controversial or sensitive.
  5. I have persuaded others based on facts gathered and determinations that I / my team made.
  6. None of the above.






Privacy Policy |  Ethics |  Open Government Initiative |  Accessibility |  No Fear Act

Disclaimers |  Webmaster |  Continuity of Operations Plan (COOP) |  USA.gov |  Adobe Reader

For Help or Information: JOBS@FERC.gov