Skip Navigation

Vacancy Questions Preview

Vacancy Questions Preview

Grade: 07
* 1.GS-07. Choose one answer that best describes your education and/or experience as it pertains to the basic requirements for this position.
  1. I possess 1 year of graduate level education.
  2. Superior Academic Achievement: I meet one of the following: Upper 3rd of my graduating class based on completed courses; 3.0 or higher out of 4.0 based on 4 years of education, or on courses completed in the final 2 years of curriculum, or a 3.5 or higher based on average of major courses completed, or major courses completed in the final 2 years of curriculum; a member of a national scholastic honor society in accordance with Association of College Honor Societies.
  3. I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-05 level as described below.
  4. I possess a combination of post high school education and experience that together meet the qualification requirements for this position.
  5. I do not meet any of the requirements as described above.


Required specialized experience at the GS-5 level is defined as experience that has included studying or analyzing basic power generation and transmission issues.

* 2.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


Grade: 09
* 1.GS-09. Choose one answer that best describes your education and/or experience as it pertains to the basic requirements for this position.
  1. I possess 2 full years of progressively higher level graduate education or master`s or equivalent graduate degree (such as an LL.B or J.D.).
  2. I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-07 level as described below.
  3. I possess a combination of graduate level education beyond the first year of progressive graduate study and appropriate experience that together meet the qualification requirements of this position.
  4. I do not meet any of the requirements as described above.


Required specialized experience at the GS-7 level is defined as experience that has included studying and resolving conventional power generation and transmission issues.

* 2.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


Grade: All Grades
* 1.What is your highest level of education in electrical engineering related to power systems?
  1. I have no electrical engineering education related to power systems.
  2. I have taken one or more college courses related to electrical engineering and power systems, but I do not have a degree in the area.
  3. I have a Bachelor's degree in electrical engineering and completed one or more college courses related to power systems.
  4. I have a Master's degree in electrical engineering and completed one or more college courses related to power systems.


* 2.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 3.What is your knowledge of bulk power system operations and/or transmission planning?
  1. I do not have any education, training or experience with bulk power system operations and/or transmission planning.
  2. I have education or training related to bulk power system operations and/or transmission planning, but do not have work experience related to the topic.
  3. I have work experience with bulk power system operations and/or transmission planning.
  4. I have supervisory work experience with bulk power system operations and/or transmission planning.


* 4.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 5.What is your knowledge of Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) rules and regulations of power system operations and/or transmission planning?
  1. I do not have any education, training, knowledge or experience of FERC rules and regulations.
  2. I have education, training or knowledge of FERC rules and regulations, but do not have work experience related to FERC rules and regulations.
  3. I have work experience that requires the knowledge of FERC rules and regulations.


* 6.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 7.What is your knowledge of North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC) reliability standards?
  1. I do not have any education, training, knowledge or experience of NERC reliability standards.
  2. I have education, training or knowledge of NERC reliability standards, but do not have work experience related to them.
  3. I have work experience that requires the knowledge of NERC reliability standards.


* 8.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 9.Select the response which best describes your experience with performing power system or transmission planning studies and analysis and developing alternative solutions, corrective strategies or improvement initiatives to address and resolve any identified issues.
  1. I have no education, training or experience in performing power system or transmission planning studies and/or analysis.
  2. I have had education or training in performing power system or transmission planning studies and analysis but have not yet performed these studies in a work environment.
  3. I have assisted a senior employee or supervisor with tasks, research or preparation of studies directly related to the analysis of power system operations or transmission planning and developing alternative solutions, corrective strategies or improvement initiatives to address issues indentified by those studies. For the most part, I have performed these tasks on a limited basis (infrequently and not as a regular part of the job OR on a routine basis but under supervision or review from a senior employee or supervisor).
  4. I have experience independently completing tasks, research or preparation of studies directly related to the analysis of power system operations or transmission planning and developing alternative solutions, corrective strategies or improvement initiatives to address issues indentified by those studies. I have been an equally contributing member of a time-limited task force, project team or focus group, OR I have performed these tasks independently but on an infrequent basis & not as a central and recurring part of my job.


* 10.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 11.Select the response which best describes your experience using computer programs (such as General Electric or PTI) to perform power flow and stability analysis; using computer-based power simulation tools; and/or maintaining or operating powerflow and stability databases.
  1. I have no education, training or experience using computer programs to perform power flow and stability analysis; using computer-based power simulation tools; and/or maintaining or operating powerflow and stability databases.
  2. I have had education or training in using computer programs to perform power flow and stability analysis; using computer-based power simulation tools; and/or maintaining or operating powerflow and stability databases but have not yet performed this in a work experience.
  3. I have work experience using computer programs to perform power flow and stability analysis; using computer-based power simulation tools; and/or maintaining or operating powerflow and stability databases. For the most part, I have performed these tasks on a limited basis (infrequently and not as a regular part of the job OR on a routine basis but under supervision or review from a senior employee or supervisor).
  4. I have work experience independently using computer programs to perform power flow and stability analysis; using computer-based power simulation tools; and/or maintaining or operating powerflow and stability databases. I have been an equally contributing member of a task force, project team or focus group, OR I have performed these tasks routinely with limited supervision.


* 12.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 13.Which types of documents have you written? (choose all that apply)
  1. Summary reports
  2. Correspondence (emails, letters, memos)
  3. Technical reports
  4. Standard operating procedures
  5. Directives / policies / regulations
  6. Commission Orders
  7. Option papers / decision memos
  8. Journal or newspaper articles
  9. Books or book chapters
  10. Academic / research papers
  11. None of the above


* 14.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 15.Select the responses that describe your experience related to oral communication. (choose all that apply)
  1. I have communicated information to groups or individuals in order to instruct
  2. I have communicated information to groups or individuals in order to persuade / negotiate
  3. I have conducted formal training sessions on technical topics
  4. I have represented management in meetings / conferences
  5. I have conducted informal training to others on an individual basis
  6. None of the above


* 16.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 17.Select the response that best describes your level of experience in making technical presentations.
  1. I have not had any education, training or experience in making technical presentations.
  2. I have had education or training in presenting technical reports but have not had work experience.
  3. I have work experience in presenting technical reports, with close supervision from a supervisor or senior engineer.
  4. I have presented technical reports as a regular part of my work experieince and with limited supervision.


* 18.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 19.Select the response that best reflects your level of experience in working with a team to resolve problems, analyze alternatives, negotiate differences and/or make improvements.
  1. I do not have prior experience of this nature.
  2. I have worked on a team with peers who each had been designated a distinctly separate role.
  3. I have worked on a team with individuals from different organizations, groups, or offices and have guided others to work effectively in a team environment.
  4. I have worked with a team on many occasions with the objective to achieve goals by sharing or integrating ideas, knowledge, skills, information, support resources.
  5. I have led teams and created an atmosphere for teamwork, cooperation, and productivity which had positive impact.


* 20.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 21.Which of the following groups have you worked with in a team environment to accomplish a work-related goal? (choose all that apply)
  1. Lawyers
  2. Economists
  3. Technical Specialists
  4. Industry Analysts
  5. Electrical Engineers
  6. Engineers in disciplines other than electrical
  7. None of the above


* 22.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.






Privacy Policy |  Ethics |  Open Government Initiative |  Accessibility |  No Fear Act

Disclaimers |  Webmaster |  Continuity of Operations Plan (COOP) |  USA.gov |  Adobe Reader

For Help or Information: JOBS@FERC.gov