Skip to main content

Grade: 11

1 Choose one answer that best describes your education and/or experience as it pertains to the basic requirements for this position. Answer to this question is required
  • I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-9 level as described below.
  • I possess a Ph.D. or equivalent doctoral degree.
  • I possess 3 full years of progressively higher level graduate education leading to a Ph.D. or equivalent doctoral degree.
  • I do not meet any of the requirements as described above.
Required specialized experience is substantial experience using statistical software, such as SAS, STATA, SPSS. S/he should have extensive experience working with large data sets and will have developed and/or performed quantitative analyses and organized large data sets for use in presentations and/or research papers.

Grade: 12

1 Select the choice that best describes your specialized experience. Answer to this question is required
  • I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-11 level as described below.
  • I do not have one full year of specialized experience equivalent to the definition as described below.
Required specialized experience is experience in using statistical software and using large databases for quantitative analysis related to energy market issues and presenting analyses to external or internal groups.

Grade: All Grades

1 I understand submission of supporting documentation, e.g., transcripts, DD 214, SF-50, may be required for this position. I also understand that my application will not be considered if the required supporting documentation is not submitted or is not submitted in accordance with the time frames indicated in the announcement. Answer to this question is required
  • True
  • False
2 Select the option that best reflects how you first became aware of this position. Answer to this question is required
  • At a college job fair or professional organizational event
  • Referral from a professional organization
  • College placement office
  • Referral from a state or local agency
  • OPM 's USAJOBS job board
  • Internet job board (other than USAJOBS)
  • Magazine or newspaper advertisement
  • Referral from another Federal agency or Federal employee
  • Other
3 Do you have substantial experience using industry best-practices of database design to set up large (> 1 million rows) and complex (relational with multiple tables and foreign keys) analytic databases with multiple users? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
4 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) listed in your resume (e.g., 12/10/90 - 2/4/93, Department of Energy) that indicate (i) the type of databases you set up and managed, (ii) the type(s) and size of the data sets , and (iii) your job responsibility in relation to your team. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
5 Do you have experience contributing the development of complex enterprise-wide databases using database management software (e.g., Oracle, SQL Server? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
6 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) listed in your resume (e.g., 12/10/90 - 2/4/93, Department of Energy) that indicate (i) the type of databases you set up and managed, (ii) the type(s) and size of the data sets , and (iii) your job responsibility in relation to your team. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
7 Do you have experience using SAS statistical analysis software to analyze data and develop statistical models as part of your graduate course work requirement or as part of your work place job responsibility? Answer to this question is required
  • True
  • False
8 If Yes, specify SAS routines that you have used to analyze the data and the types of SAS modeling activities that you have performed (maximum length 250 characters). Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
9 Select all those responses that best describe your experience in using programming, statistical, computational and mathematical modeling software Answer to this question is required
  • Programming in Advanced Excel (i.e., Programming Macros using Visual Basic).
  • Modeling using a statistical software other than SAS, such as STATA, SPSS, TSP, RATS, and EViews.
  • Performed at least one analysis using Simulation Software, such as @RISK and Crystal Ball.
  • Performed at least one analysis using Linear Programming (LP) Models, Computable General Equilibrium (CGE) Models or Computational non-linear optimization models.
  • Modeling/programming using a computer programming language C/C++, Java or SQL.
  • None of the above.
10 Which of the following best characterizes your knowledge and experience related to data analysis? Answer to this question is required
  • I have independently performed statistical analysis as part my school course work or my work place job responsibility.
  • I have cleaned and prepared data set(s) from raw data for performing my statistical analyses as part my school course work or my work place job responsibility.
  • I have developed and documented programs that process and analyze large data sets.
  • I have programmed processes that use communications protocols to collect and analyze data from diverse sources.
  • I have implemented data verification techniques to quality assure the results of my analysis as part my school course work or my work place job responsibility.
  • None of the above.
11 Do you have experience performing data cleansing and quality monitoring on raw data in order to run analytic processes? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
12 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief (maximum length 250 characters)statement that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) listed in your resume (e.g., 12/10/90 - 2/4/93, Department of Energy) that indicate (i) the type of databases you set up and managed, (ii) the type(s) and size of the data sets , and (iii) your job responsibility in relation to your team. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
13 Have you written analytical reports or documents related to the gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries and/or energy or financial trading? Answer to this question is required
  • True
  • False
14 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
15 Have you written documentation for complex enterprise-wide databases? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
16 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
17 Select the ways in which you have contributed to the production of written products. Answer to this question is required
  • I have provided first drafts to others for their review.
  • I have reviewed and provided general comments to others� drafts.
  • I have reviewed and provided grammar, spelling, and organization edits to others� drafts.
  • I have proofed documents specifically for technical accuracy.
  • I have consolidated reports from others into a final product.
  • I have been responsible for written products from start to finish.
  • None of the above.
18 Have you made oral or written presentations to management or industry groups? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
19 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
20 Select all responses that best describe your experience in communicating technical information to peers, industry, and management. Answer to this question is required
  • I have presented technical information to supervisors or co-workers.
  • I have presented technical information to external industry representatives or other stakeholders.
  • I have presented technical subject matter(s) to Technical Workshop(s).
  • I have made technical presentations on issue(s) in industry, professional, or technical conference(s).
  • None of the above.
21 Select the responses that describe your experience communicating orally. Answer to this question is required
  • I have interviewed or questioned others to gather needed information.
  • I have provided information to others orally to defend my / my team�s position.
  • I have given brief presentations or updates at meetings (e.g. pre-filing, staff meetings).
  • I have discussed and explained material that may have been controversial or sensitive.
  • I have persuaded others based on facts gathered and determinations that I / my team made.
  • None of the above.
22 In which teams have you participated to achieve project goals? Answer to this question is required
  • Small work groups (between 2 and 5 people.).
  • Medium work groups (more than 5 people.)
  • Large work groups (6 to 10 people.)
  • None of the above.
23 Choose the response that best describes your highest level of experience working in a team setting: Answer to this question is required
  • I have served as a team leader of a large multi-disciplinary team responsible for planning, organizing, and coordinating work tasks to resolve highly complex electric power utility policy issues
  • I have served as a team leader in the limited capacity of setting work priorities and defining critical work paths in order to resolve electric power utility issues
  • I have served as a team leader in the limited capacity of monitoring performance and implementation of projects to resolve electric power utility issues
  • I have served as a team member with some responsibility for monitoring performance and implementation of projects to resolve electric power utility issues
  • I have worked on a team to resolve electric power utility issues without direct supervision
  • I have worked on a team to resolve electric power utility issues under direct supervision
  • None of the above apply to my experience working in teams
24 I have contributed significantly to a team of two or more persons to develop or manage complex enterprise-wide database. Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
25 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required