Skip Navigation

Vacancy Questions Preview

Vacancy Questions Preview

Grade: All Grades
* 1.I understand submission of supporting documentation, e.g., transcripts, DD 214, SF-50, may be required for this position. I also understand that my application will not be considered if the required supporting documentation is not submitted or is not submitted in accordance with the time frames indicated in the announcement.
  1. True
  2. False


* 2.Do you meet the requirements for ICTAP eligibility? If yes, you MUST upload required documents as specified in the vacancy announcement in order to receive consideration.
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 3.Do you meet the requirements for VEOA eligibility? If yes, you MUST upload required documents as specified in the vacancy announcement in order to receive consideration.
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 4.Select the choice that best describes your specialized experience.
  1. I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-09 level as described below.
  2. I do not have one full year of specialized experience equivalent to the definition as described below.


Required specialized experience is defined as experience involving the collection, analysis and evaluation of technical information, including the formulation of recommendations; and interpreting technical policy and/or regulations to develop action plan for the completion of assignments. Experience in research and analysis related to the electric power industry.

5.Select the response which best describes your highest level experience researching guidelines associated with the regulation of the electric utility industry:
  1. I have little to no experience in independently researching guidelines associated with the regulation of the electric utility industry.
  2. I have knowledge of guidelines associated with the regulation of the electric utility industry, but consult with subject matter experts for a higher level of interpretation on their implications.
  3. I have routinely (as a regular part of my job) and independently (or with little review) interpreted guidelines associated with the regulation of the electric utility industry and/or have assisted others in their interpretation.


* 6.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 7.In which of the following regulatory issues have you had experience analyzing related to the oil pipeline industry?
  1. Transmission and ancillary service rates
  2. Terms and conditions of service
  3. RTO/ISO energy and capacity markets
  4. NERC budget and/or rules of procedure
  5. Electric power sales
  6. Tariff changes
  7. None of the above


* 8.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 9.Which resources have you used to conduct work related research? (select all that apply)
  1. Lexis Nexis or similar database
  2. Internet websites
  3. Periodicals/newspapers
  4. Books
  5. Trade press
  6. Federal/State agency files available to the public
  7. Financial Data Sources
  8. None of the above


* 10.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 11.Have you taken a formal training course related to research methods, information collection, or data interpretation?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 12.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 13.Which response best describes your knowledge of and / or experience with Commission orders relevant to the regulation of the oil pipeline industry?
  1. I have little to no knowledge of the Commission?s rules, regulations, and policies and refer to subject matter experts for guidance.
  2. I have knowledge of the Commission?s rules, regulations, and policies but consult with subject matter experts for a higher level of interpretation and their implications.
  3. I have routinely worked as part of a team to interpret the Commission rules, regulations, and policies.
  4. I have routinely interpreted the Commission's rules, regulations, and policies independently and/or have assisted others in its interpretation


* 14.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 15.Which of the following electric utility statute(s), regulation(s) and policies(s) have you implemented in a professional setting:
  1. Federal Power Act
  2. Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act
  3. Commission regulations and policies
  4. Energy Policy Act of 2005
  5. I have experience applying other electric utility statues and policies that are not listed
  6. None of the above


* 16.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 17.Which response best describes your highest level of knowledge and/or experience with the Commission's rules, regulations and policies relevant to the regulation of the electric power industry?
  1. I have no knowledge of the Commission?s rules, regulations, and policies and refer to subject matter experts, or others, for guidance.
  2. I have knowledge of the Commission?s rules, regulations, and policies but consult with subject matter experts, or others, for a higher level of interpretation and their implications.
  3. I have routinely interpreted the Commission's rules, regulations, and policies independently and have assisted others in their interpretation.


* 18.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 19.Do you have a working knowledge of major rules, regulations or policies of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 20.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 21.Please select the response that best describes your experience preparing a written document related to the energy industry or the regulation of the energy industry.
  1. I wrote a significant research, policy, legal or analytical document independently, such as a major report, dissertation or legal brief, even if it was later revised in review.
  2. I wrote a research, policy, legal or analytical document independently, such as a memorandum or short report, even if it was later revised in review.
  3. I was a member of a team that wrote a significant research, policy, legal or analytical document independently, such as a major report, research paper or legal brief, even if it was later revised in review.
  4. I was a member of a team that wrote a research, policy, legal or analytical document independently, such as a memorandum or short report, even if it was later revised in review.
  5. I added additional information to a document written principally by someone else.
  6. I reviewed someone else's written document for factual and/or data accuracy.
  7. I edited someone else's written document for clarity, interpretation, and/or tone.
  8. None of the above.


* 22.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 23.Select all those responses that best describe your contribution to the preparation of written products.
  1. I have reviewed and provided grammar, spelling, and organization edits to others' drafts in relation to the electric utilities industries.
  2. I have proofed documents related to the electric industries specifically for technical accuracy.
  3. I have consolidated reports as they relate to the electricity utilities industries from others into a final product.
  4. I have independently produced written products related to the electric utility industries from start to finish.
  5. None of the above.


* 24.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 25.For which events have you communicated information orally to others?
  1. Informal Briefings
  2. Professional / stakeholder conferences
  3. Staff meetings with senior staff
  4. Hearings / depositions
  5. Telephone inquiries
  6. Town hall meetings
  7. Training courses
  8. Work group meetings
  9. None of the above


* 26.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.






Privacy Policy |  Ethics |  Open Government Initiative |  Accessibility |  No Fear Act

Disclaimers |  Webmaster |  Continuity of Operations Plan (COOP) |  USA.gov |  Adobe Reader

For Help or Information: JOBS@FERC.gov