Skip Navigation

Vacancy Questions Preview

Vacancy Questions Preview

Grade: 13
* 1.Select the choice that best describes your specialized experience.
  1. I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-12 level as described below.
  2. I do not have one full year of specialized experience equivalent to the definition as described below.


Required specialized experience is defined as experience supervising publishing and logistics services staff in at least three of the following: printing and reproduction; mail management; copier management; graphics; warehouse and dispatch management operations; and associated COR responsibilities.

* 2.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 3.Have you managed projects in support of publishing services (e.g. graphic art, time sensitive public mailings, large scale printing requirements, etc.)?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 4.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) or academic assignment(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 5.Select the statement that best describes your highest level of experience serving as a contracting representative for supplies, equipment, and maintenance or service contracts.
  1. I have not had education, training or experience in performing this task.
  2. I have had education or training in performing the task, but have not yet performed it on the job.
  3. I have performed this task on the job. My work on this task was monitored closely by a supervisor or senior employee to ensure compliance with proper procedures.
  4. I have performed this task as a regular part of a job. I have performed it independently and normally without review by a supervisor or senior employee.
  5. I am considered an expert in performing this task. I have supervised performance of this task or I am normally the person who is consulted by other workers to assist them in doing this task because of my expertise.


* 6.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 7.Do you have experience generating an annual budget to support national publishing and mail programs?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 8.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 9.Select the statement that best describes your highest level of experience prioritizing jobs, developing independent government estimates, and certifying invoices within required timeframes.
  1. I have not had education, training or experience in performing this task.
  2. I have had education or training in performing the task, but have not yet performed it on the job.
  3. I have performed this task on the job. My work on this task was monitored closely by a supervisor or senior employee to ensure compliance with proper procedures.
  4. I have performed this task as a regular part of a job. I have performed it independently and normally without review by a supervisor or senior employee.
  5. I am considered an expert in performing this task. I have supervised performance of this task or I am normally the person who is consulted by other workers to assist them in doing this task because of my expertise.


* 10.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 11.Do you have experience providing program oversight that included corresponding with administrative staff, local post office personnel, service contractors, and potential vendors?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 12.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 13.Do you have experience supervising computer layout work and edits for all facets of printing and publishing for different services and businesses?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 14.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) or academic assignment(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 15.Select the statement that best describes your highest level of experience identifying problems and implementing solutions involving support services operations?
  1. I have not had education, training or experience in performing this task.
  2. I have had education or training in performing the task, but have not yet performed it on the job.
  3. I have performed this task on the job. My work on this task was monitored closely by a supervisor or senior employee to ensure compliance with proper procedures.
  4. I have performed this task as a regular part of a job. I have performed it independently and normally without review by a supervisor or senior employee.
  5. I am considered an expert in performing this task. I have supervised performance of this task or I am normally the person who is consulted by other workers to assist them in doing this task because of my expertise.


* 16.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 17.Do you possess experience monitoring such functions as program planning, resource and fiscal management, training, manpower management, and/or automated data processing to meet publishing and logistics plan objectives?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 18.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 19.Do you possess experience managing US Postal Service operations supporting HQ and regional operations?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 20.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 21.Have you managed multi-million dollar budget and financial processes in support of publishing and logistics service programs?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 22.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) or academic assignment(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 23.This position requires you to be able to supervise subordinate staff and analyze the human resources requirements of a staff. Please select all of the following with which you have experience.
  1. I have experience communicating information about my work unit’s activities to peers and higher level management.
  2. I have developed or assisted in the development of position descriptions.
  3. I have mentored employees and assisted in the development of career development plans for staff members.
  4. I have helped to manage and/or resolve conflicts, confrontations or disagreements.
  5. My experience is not reflected in any of the above responses.


* 24.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 25.Select the statement that best describes your highest level of experience distributing and balancing workload and tasks among employees in accordance with established workflow and employee skill levels and occupational specializations to assure timely accomplishment of the work unit’s mission.
  1. I have not had education, training or experience in performing this task.
  2. I have had education or training in performing the task, but have not yet performed it on the job.
  3. I have performed this task on the job. My work on this task was monitored closely by a supervisor or senior employee to ensure compliance with proper procedures.
  4. I have performed this task as a regular part of a job. I have performed it independently and normally without review by a supervisor or senior employee.
  5. I am considered an expert in performing this task. I have supervised performance of this task or I am normally the person who is consulted by other workers to assist them in doing this task because of my expertise.


* 26.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) or academic assignment(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 27.Please select the one response that best characterizes the leadership you have provided in a work situation.
  1. I have routinely taken the lead to accomplish a specific team task or assignment.
  2. In addition to the task above, I have routinely led or supervised a team for which I set goals, milestones and expectations; planned work assignments and assigned the work to team members; followed-up with team members to assure timeliness in meeting milestones; and reported progress to upper management.
  3. In addition to the tasks listed above, I have normally led or supervised a team for which I provided technical guidance; coached and mentored the team members to achieve desired results; reviewed completed work for technical adequacy and timeliness; and represented the team’s final product to upper management.
  4. In addition to the tasks listed above, I have normally led or supervised a team for which I obtained and committed resources; resolved conflicts, differences or problems among team members; represented team requirements or accomplishments to higher management; evaluated the results of the completed team assignment; and recommended changes to improve team performance.
  5. None of the above.


* 28.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 29.Select all of the response(s) that best reflect your experience motivating, leading and providing structure to successfully complete work projects.
  1. Administered consequences, held others accountable and enforced program policies and standards in the workplace.
  2. Coordinated efforts to adjust work activities in situations where frequent changes, delays or unexpected events arose that caused major shifts in priorities, timetables or work assignments.
  3. Facilitated the resolution of competing or conflicting interests among co-workers whose cooperation was essential to the success of a project.
  4. Persuaded others to adopt new or existing methods, procedures or techniques in order to accomplish their work.
  5. Provided direction, guidance or instruction to members of inter-disciplinary teams charged with carrying out a technical project.
  6. Used consensus-building techniques to persuade representatives of groups that held opposing views or positions, to reach agreement on important issues.
  7. Diffused confrontational events involving people who were difficult, hostile or distressed.
  8. None of the above.


* 30.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) or academic assignment(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 31.Select all of the response(s) that describe your experience in exercising tact, discretion, and persuasiveness when resolving and negotiating differences, sensitive issues, or problems among various groups.
  1. I have gained respect and confidence from team members, colleagues and customers, in the performance of tasks.
  2. I have developed non-standard and innovative approaches to dealing with complex, controversial and sensitive issues.
  3. I have determined customer expectations and requirements and used that knowledge to improve work methods, procedures, products and services.
  4. I have accessed needs, provided assistance, resolved problems, satisfied expectations, and provided quality products and services for customers.
  5. None of the above.


* 32.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 33.Select all of the audiences to which you have made a presentation or formal briefing.
  1. Employees in my immediate organization
  2. Employees outside my immediate organization, but in my agency or organization
  3. Management officials in my direct reporting line of authority
  4. Management officials from outside my immediate organization, but in the same agency or organization
  5. High level officials within and outside my organization
  6. None of the above


* 34.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 35.Select all of the following duties you have performed which demonstrate your ability to communicate effectively in writing in a supervisory position.
  1. Preparing justifications that either support the reasons for confirming or disapproving requested space requirements
  2. Handling logistics that include ordering and tracking deliveries, managing installation, acceptance and activation of government furnished equipment, materials and supplies
  3. Developing policies, execute correspondence, letters of agreement, memorandum of understanding or interagency agreements
  4. None of the above


* 36.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 37.Select all of the following duties you have performed which demonstrate your experience providing customer service.
  1. Identifying the need to create a team oriented toward customer service and fostering a climate where customer service is valued
  2. Assessing current customer service practices and developing approaches to address systemic issues
  3. Serving as an educator for internal and external customers by sharing knowledge and transferring skills to others
  4. Seeking creative solutions to providing or improving services that may increase efficiency and decrease costs
  5. Assessing customer needs and tailoring products or services to meet their needs
  6. Providing technical information in response to customers’ requests
  7. Answering customers’ questions and following-up to ensure customer satisfaction
  8. Resolving technical or complex issues to customers’ satisfaction
  9. None of the above


* 38.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 39.Select all of the following that you have independently written or developed.
  1. Executive briefings
  2. Training presentations
  3. Budgets
  4. Statement of Work
  5. Prospectus documents
  6. Business cases
  7. None of the above


* 40.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


Grade: All Grades
* 1.I understand submission of supporting documentation, e.g., transcripts, DD 214, SF-50, may be required for this position. I also understand that my application will not be considered if the required supporting documentation is not submitted or is not submitted in accordance with the time frames indicated in the announcement.
  1. True
  2. False


* 2.Select the option that best reflects how you first became aware of this position.
  1. At a college job fair or professional organizational event
  2. Referral from a professional organization
  3. College placement office
  4. Referral from a state or local agency
  5. OPM 's USAJOBS job board
  6. Internet job board (other than USAJOBS)
  7. Magazine or newspaper advertisement
  8. Referral from another Federal agency or Federal employee
  9. Other






Privacy Policy |  Ethics |  Open Government Initiative |  Accessibility |  No Fear Act

Disclaimers |  Webmaster |  Continuity of Operations Plan (COOP) |  USA.gov |  Adobe Reader

For Help or Information: JOBS@FERC.gov