Skip Navigation

Vacancy Questions Preview

Vacancy Questions Preview

Grade: All Grades
* 1.I understand submission of supporting documentation, e.g., transcripts, DD 214, SF-50, may be required for this position. I also understand that my application will not be considered if the required supporting documentation is not submitted or is not submitted in accordance with the time frames indicated in the announcement.
  1. True
  2. False


* 2.Select the option that best reflects how you first became aware of this position.
  1. At a college job fair or professional organizational event
  2. Referral from a professional organization
  3. College placement office
  4. Referral from a state or local agency
  5. OPM 's USAJOBS job board
  6. Internet job board (other than USAJOBS)
  7. Magazine or newspaper advertisement
  8. Referral from another Federal agency or Federal employee
  9. Other


* 3.Select the responses that describe your experience related to oral communication. (please select all that apply)
  1. I have communicated information to groups or individuals in order to instruct.
  2. I have communicated information to groups or individuals in order to persuade / negotiate.
  3. I have conducted formal training sessions on technical topics.
  4. I have provided informal training to others on an individual basis.
  5. None of the above.


* 4.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) or educational experience in your resume that supports your answer (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 5.Select the ways in which you have contributed to the production of written products. (Please circle all that apply)
  1. I have provided first drafts to others for their review.
  2. I have reviewed and provided general comments on others' drafts.
  3. I have reviewed and provided grammar, spelling, and organization edits to others' drafts.
  4. I have proofed documents specifically for technical accuracy.
  5. I have consolidated reports from others into a final product.
  6. I have been responsible for written products from start to finish.
  7. None of the above.


* 6.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) or academic assignment(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 7.How much experience do you have with the Supervisory Control and Data Acquisition (SCADA) System?
  1. I have no experience with this system.
  2. I have heard of the system but do not have experience using the system.
  3. I received training on how to use the system, but have not used it in a work setting.
  4. I have independently used the system in a work setting.
  5. I have trained others how to use the system.
  6. I have supported the operation of this system.


* 8.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) or academic assignment(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 9.With which of the following areas do you have experience?
  1. Electric utility operations including generation, transmission, distribution, and EMS/SCADA systems operation
  2. Industrial control systems
  3. Network security architecture
  4. Cyber security regulation
  5. None of the above


* 10.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) or academic assignment(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 11.Choose the responses that describe your experience working on a team or as a team leader. (Please circle all that apply)
  1. I have experience leading a multi-disciplinary team on projects or studies.
  2. I have experience as a team leader responsible for planning, organizing, and coordinating work tasks.
  3. I have experience as a team leader responsible for setting work priorities and defining critical work paths.
  4. I have experience as a team leader responsible for monitoring performance and implementation of projects and studies to meet goals and objectives related to the organization's mission.
  5. I have experience working on a team that independently handled problems without direct supervision or where there were no existing guidelines.
  6. I have experience working on a team and handling problems under direct supervision or where there were established guidelines.
  7. None of the above.


* 12.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) or academic assignment(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 13.Which response best describes your highest level of knowledge and / or experience with the North American Electric Reliability Council (NERC) Critical Infrastructure Protection (CIP) standards?
  1. I am unfamiliar with the North American Electric Reliability Council (NERC) CIP standards.
  2. I have limited knowledge of NERC CIP standards and refer to subject matter experts for guidance.
  3. I have knowledge of NERC CIP standards but consult with subject matter experts for a higher level of interpretation and its implications.
  4. I helped others interpret NERC CIP standards.


* 14.Do you have experience serving the industry by participating on a standards committee?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 15.Select all that apply in relation to electric systems operations:
  1. I have experience installing, maintaining, and/or configuring substation LANs.
  2. I have experience installing, maintaining, and/or configuring “smart” grid devices and/or associated smart grid applications.
  3. I have experience installing, maintaining, and/or configuring RTU’s PLC’s, IED’s and electromechanical components.
  4. I have experience installing, maintaining, and/or configuring various components of an Energy Management System.
  5. I have experience implementing and maintaining various control systems protocols such as SONET, MPLS, DNP3, Modbus, Profibus, etc.
  6. None of the above.


* 16.With which of the following areas do you have experience?
  1. NERC CIP Standards
  2. NIST Special Publications, e.g., SP-800-53, SP 800-82
  3. NIST FIPS
  4. NISTIR 7628
  5. NEI 08-09
  6. IEC Standards, e.g., IEC-61850, IEC-62351
  7. None of the above


* 17.With which of the following areas do you have experience? (Please circle all that apply)
  1. Electric utility operations including generation, transmission, distribution, and EMS/SCADA systems operation
  2. Industrial control systems
  3. Network security architecture
  4. Cyber security regulation
  5. None of the above


* 18.GS-07. Choose one answer that best describes your education and/or experience as it pertains to the basic requirements for this position.
  1. I possess 1 year of graduate level education.
  2. Superior Academic Achievement: I meet one of the following: Upper 3rd of my graduating class based on completed courses; 3.0 or higher out of 4.0 based on 4 years of education, or on courses completed in the final 2 years of curriculum, or a 3.5 or higher based on average of major courses completed, or major courses completed in the final 2 years of curriculum; a member of a national scholastic honor society in accordance with Association of College Honor Societies.
  3. I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-05 level as described below.
  4. I possess a combination of post high school education and experience that together meet the qualification requirements for this position.
  5. I do not meet any of the requirements as described above.






Privacy Policy |  Ethics |  Open Government Initiative |  Accessibility |  No Fear Act

Disclaimers |  Webmaster |  Continuity of Operations Plan (COOP) |  USA.gov |  Adobe Reader

For Help or Information: JOBS@FERC.gov