Skip Navigation

Vacancy Questions Preview

Vacancy Questions Preview

Grade: 12
* 1.Select the choice that best describes your specialized experience.
  1. I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-11 level as described below.
  2. I do not have one full year of specialized experience equivalent to the definition as described below.


Required specialized experience is defined as experience applying physical security principles and conducting risk analysis and assessments in order to identify vulnerabilities and determine an acceptable level of security protection measures, taking cost and compatability into consideration.

* 2.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


Grade: 13
* 1.Select the choice that best describes your specialized experience.
  1. I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-12 level as described below.
  2. I do not have one full year of specialized experience equivalent to the definition as described below.


Required specialized experience is defined as experience serving as a technical expert and/or in a team lead capacity in the application of physical security principles, as well as while conducting risk analysis and assessments in order to identify vulnerabilities and determining an acceptable level of security protection measures, taking cost and compatibility into consideration.

* 2.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


Grade: All Grades
* 1.I understand submission of supporting documentation, e.g., transcripts, DD 214, SF-50, may be required for this position. I also understand that my application will not be considered if the required supporting documentation is not submitted or is not submitted in accordance with the time frames indicated in the announcement.
  1. True
  2. False


* 2.Do you have a current Top Secret clearance, or are you eligible to receive one upon appointment?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 3.From the following list, please select the responses that best describe your experience performing administrative task(s) in support of Physical Security programs and policies.
  1. I have obtained, compiled, and summarized narrative information/data for use by others within the office.
  2. I have extracted and gathered data necessary for performing oversight of physical security projects and assignments.
  3. I have reviewed, analyzed, and prepared routine incoming/outgoing communications which set forth physical security policy/guideline requirements.
  4. I have gained basic knowledge of Physical Security principles, practices, and processes through on-the job experience and classroom training.
  5. I have summarized information from regulations for use by functional teams in a variety of duties, such as gathering data for use in reports according to instructions provided by the supervisor or higher pay grade team members.
  6. None of the above.


* 4.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 5.Please select the response that best describes your experience with information security.
  1. I have properly handled classified information.
  2. I have been an Assistant Security Manager or equivalent.
  3. I have been a Security Manager/Officer or equivalent.
  4. I have been a Top Secret Control Officer or Classification Officer or equivalent.
  5. None of the above.


* 6.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 7.I have provided expert security advice to organizational officials in the area of disaster recovery as it relates to continuity of operations (COOP) programs.
  1. True
  2. False


* 8.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 9.Which of the following describes your experience, education, or training in directing or managing the physical protection of sensitive or classified information, personnel, facilities, installations, or other sensitive materials, resources, or processes focusing on operational security (OPSEC)?
  1. I have developed and implemented security policy and design, and sometimes installed or oversaw the installation of protection systems and devices to ensure that sensitive information, equipment, and other material was not compromised, sabotaged, stolen, misused, or subjected to terrorist, malicious mischief, or other acts of willful interference.
  2. I have inspected facilities where sensitive and classified material was located and determined levels of control for the material within the facility (i.e., who is to use it, and how it should be protected).
  3. I have conducted surveys and analyses to identify the criticality and vulnerability of facilities or sites and threats against them. I have evaluated threats to identify and recommend alternative countermeasures.
  4. None of the above.


* 10.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 11.Please select the responses that best describe your experience in providing support to the security adjudication processes.
  1. I have initiated appropriate Bureau indices checks, arrest record checks, Office of Personnel Management information checks, JPAS checks, and the like, in attempting to obtain pertinent identifying information relative to subject involved in each individual case.
  2. I have received and reviewed incoming material such as applications, changes in marital status forms, personnel status forms, and the like, for the purpose of discerning merit for granting, continuing, and/or revoking security clearance, suitability and access authorizations.
  3. I have not worked in a personnel security environment.


* 12.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 13.Please select the appropriate answer that describes your knowledge of physical security, facilities protection, continuity of operations, and workplace violence policy and management issues to identify, measure, improve and apply best practices for organizational programs with interrelated functions and operations, and make performance improvement recommendations.
  1. I have no education, training or experience in performing the tasks.
  2. I have education or training in performing the tasks, but have not yet performed them on the job.
  3. I have performed the tasks on the job. My work on the tasks were monitored closely by a supervisor or senior employee to ensure compliance with proper procedures.
  4. I have performed the tasks as a regular part of a job. I have performed them independently and normally without review by a supervisor or senior employee.
  5. I am considered an expert in performing the tasks. I have supervised performance or I am normally the person who is consulted by other workers to assist them in doing the tasks because of my expertise.


* 14.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 15.Select all of the following that describe your experience, education, or training in directing or managing the physical protection of sensitive or classified information, personnel, facilities, installations, or other sensitive materials, resources, or processes focusing on operational security (OPSEC)?
  1. I have developed and implemented security policy and design, and sometimes installed or oversaw the installation of protection systems and devices to ensure that sensitive information, equipment, and other material was not compromised, sabotaged, stolen, misused, or subjected to terrorist, malicious mischief, or other acts of willful interference.
  2. I have inspected facilities where sensitive and classified material was located and determined levels of control for the material within the facility (i.e., who is to use it, and how it should be protected).
  3. I have conducted surveys and analyses to identify the criticality and vulnerability of facilities or sites and threats against them. I have evaluated threats to identify and recommend alternative countermeasures.
  4. None of the above.


* 16.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 17.Please select the responses that describe your experience in communicating orally.
  1. I have researched issues and explained resolutions to customers or supervisors.
  2. I have interviewed, or conferred with others to obtain or verify information and explained non-technical procedures to others.
  3. I have given short presentations at briefings or meetings.
  4. I have discussed and explained technical material that was often controversial or sensitive. I have acted as the main liaison with other departments or organizations.
  5. None of the above.


* 18.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 19.Please select the response that describes your experience communicating in writing.
  1. I have experience copying information from one document to another, preparing correspondence from model letters and paragraphs.
  2. I have experience preparing written documents such as transmittal memos and e-mails which cover routine issues and recipients are usually within my immediate organization/office/agency.
  3. I have experience preparing written documents such as reports and briefing papers which cover routine issues with some complex elements and recipients are usually management within my organization/agency.
  4. I have experience preparing written documents such as reports, briefing papers, and correspondence to external entities which cover issues involving complex programs and require sensitivity to the views of my audience. Recipients are usually middle or senior management within or outside of the organization/agency.
  5. I have extensive experience preparing a wide variety of written documents such as complex studies, policy guidance, congressional correspondence, speeches, and testimony which involve issues or programs of a sensitive and controversial nature, and recipients include a wide range of individuals both within and outside of the organization/agency.
  6. None of the above.


* 20.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 21.I am responsible for leading Physical Security and Emergency Preparedness teams with reviewing security clearance applications and making recommendations to upper management.
  1. True
  2. False


* 22.In reference to the question(s) above regarding written communication, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 23.Please select the response that describes your highest level of experience coordinating and providing training to all critical emergency team members to include guard staff, volunteers and staff.
  1. I have worked with organization emergency teams and assisted in developing programs that coordinate safety functions in most areas of an emergency organization.
  2. I have developed plans and policies and implemented programs at all levels of an organization that coordinate a diverse safety organization. I have also interfaced with other organizations on reporting requirements and internal improvements.
  3. I have little to no experience working in a safety organization.


* 24.In reference to the question(s) above regarding oral communications, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.






Privacy Policy |  Ethics |  Open Government Initiative |  Accessibility |  No Fear Act

Disclaimers |  Webmaster |  Continuity of Operations Plan (COOP) |  USA.gov |  Adobe Reader

For Help or Information: JOBS@FERC.gov