Skip Navigation

Vacancy Questions Preview

Vacancy Questions Preview

Grade: All Grades
* 1.I understand submission of supporting documentation, e.g., transcripts, DD 214, SF-50, may be required for this position. I also understand that my application will not be considered if the required supporting documentation is not submitted or is not submitted in accordance with the time frames indicated in the announcement.
  1. True
  2. False


* 2.Select the option that best reflects how you first became aware of this position.
  1. At a college job fair or professional organizational event
  2. Referral from a professional organization
  3. College placement office
  4. Referral from a state or local agency
  5. OPM 's USAJOBS job board
  6. Internet job board (other than USAJOBS)
  7. Magazine or newspaper advertisement
  8. Referral from another Federal agency or Federal employee
  9. Other


* 3.Select the choice that best describes your specialized experience.
  1. I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-13 level as described below.
  2. I do not have one full year of specialized experience equivalent to the definition as described below.


Required specialized experience at the GS-13 level is defined as substantial experience in analyzing commodity trading portfolios, with emphasis on natural gas and electricity.

* 4.Do you have substantial experience in performing applied statistical or econometric analysis?
  1. True
  2. False


* 5.In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 6.Do you have substantial experience using SAS statistical analysis software to analyze data and develop statistical models as part of your graduate course work requirement, or as part of your work place job responsibility?
  1. True
  2. False


* 7.In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 8.Select all those responses that best describe your experience in using statistical, computational and mathematical modeling software.
  1. Designing and developing models using Advanced Excel (i.e., Programming Macros using Visual Basic).
  2. Designing and developing models using a statistical software other than SAS, such as STATA, SPSS, TSP, RATS, and EViews.
  3. Developing and implementing stochastic models using a Simulation Software, such as @RISK and Crystal Ball.
  4. Developing and/or executing Linear Programming (LP) Models, Computable General Equilibrium (CGE) Models or Computational non-linear optimization models.
  5. Modeling / programming using a (i) computational software, such as MATLAB, Mathematica, and GAMS, or (ii) computer programming language C/C++, Java or SQL .
  6. None of the above.


* 9.Which of the following best characterizes your knowledge and experience related to data analysis?
  1. I have routinely conceived methodological details of statistical and other quantitative analysis, occasionally overseen teams of junior staff in performing data analysis, and ensured that the results produced by the members of team(s) are turned into a consistent unified analysis.
  2. I have routinely (i) implemented data manipulation and analysis techniques and (ii) cleaned and prepared data set(s) from raw data as part my job responsibility.
  3. I have used two or more "large" economic, financial, energy or other database(s) to analyze trading activity and/or behavior.
  4. I have assessed the risk associated with options, futures, swaps, other finincial market positions using commonly accepted analytic (both probabilistic and deterministic) techniques.
  5. I have routinely and systematically documented (i) the details of the methodology adopted and the model assumptions, such that my analytical work is transparent and the results could be replicated, and (ii) the caveats associated with interpreting the resulting model results.
  6. None of the above.


* 10.Do you have substantial experience of quantitatively analyzing energy or other commodity trading instruments (such as options, swaps, and futures and other derivative securities) and behavior?
  1. True
  2. False


* 11.In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 12.Select all responses that best describe your knowledge and experience in performing and leading data analysis.
  1. I have substantial experience as technical lead in independently performing and leading team(s) in performing applied statistical, econometric, or other quantitative analysis.
  2. I have served as technical lead for six or more large and complex, quantitative, analytical projects and, in that capacity, conceived, designed, and developed quantitative, analytical methodology to analyze the relevant issues, and successfully led the implementation and completion of those projects on time and within the available resources.
  3. I have trained six or more technical staff in developing and implementing statistical / econometric analysis and interpreting and verifying the results of the analysis.
  4. I have developed guidelines for systematically cleaning and preparing data sets for performing statistical analysis, and have successfully implemented and/or overseen implementation of those guidelines in preparing six or more "large" economic, financial, energy or other data sets for subsequent statistical or quantitative modeling.
  5. I have developed guidelines for performing systematic verification and quality assurance of the results of statistical or other quantitative modeling results, and have routinely overseen systematic implementation of those quality control and quality assurance procedures for statistical or quantitative modeling results.
  6. I have routinely quality assured the results of statistical modeling that my team and I performed and, as technical lead, have presented the results of the quality assured statistical modeling in technical or professional conferences or in other organized technical peer-group or leadership meetings/workshops.
  7. None of the above.


* 13.Do you have experience using trade capture systems for energy or other commodity trading instruments (such as options, swaps, futures and other derivative securities)?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 14.In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 15.Do you have experience examining the natural gas and/or electricity market issues pertinent to market competition and market concentration, and analyzing the impacts of changes in market conditions (such as mergers and acquisitions, new supply and demand sources) on the respective energy market fundamentals and their impact on the respective market's energy prices?
  1. True
  2. False


* 16.In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 17.Which of the following laws and regulations have you interpreted and applied in a professional setting?
  1. Federal Power Act
  2. Natural Gas Act
  3. Natural Gas Policy Act
  4. Interstate Commerce Act
  5. Federal Energy Regulation Commission rules, regulations, policies
  6. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
  7. None of the above


* 18.Select all responses that best describe your knowledge of and/or experience related to Natural Gas.
  1. I have analyzed in depth issues associated with various segments of the physical natural gas markets from production to pipeline transportation and storage to distribution and have written white papers and/or detailed technical reports on various aspects of the natural gas markets, including their technology and economics.
  2. I have examined different types of natural gas financial instruments available in the markets and how they are used in conjunction with the physical natural gas markets.
  3. I have systematically investigated the interactions between the natural gas and the electricity markets, and can explain well the impacts of changes to conditions in one market on the other market.
  4. I am familiar with several key Presidential and Legislative energy policy mandates of interest to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC), such as the Natural Gas Act and Energy Policy Act of 2005 and 1992, and the Commission's Regulations and Policies, such as the FERC Orders 636, 644, 698 and 720, and can explain well the how these regulations and policies have influenced the U.S.natural gas markets.
  5. I am interested in natural gas markets, but am not familiar with the issues and policies related to the U.S. natural gas markets.


* 19.Select all responses that best describe your knowledge of and/or experience related to Electricity.
  1. I have analyzed in depth issues associated with the electricity sector from generation to transmission to distribution and have written white papers and/or detailed technical reports on various aspects of the electricity markets, including their technology and economics.
  2. I have examined different types of electricity financial instruments available in the markets and how they are used in conjunction with the physical electricity markets.
  3. I have systematically investigated the interactions between the electricity and the natural gas markets, and can explain well the impacts of changes to market conditions in one market on the other market.
  4. I am familiar with several key Presidential and Legislative energy policy mandates of interest to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC), such as the Federal Power Act and Energy Policy Act of 2005 and 1992, and the Commission's Regulations and Policies, such as the FERC Orders 681, 888, 889, and 2000 and can explain well the how these policies and regulations have influenced the U.S. electricity markets.
  5. I am interested in issues related to electricity markets, but have not worked on these issues and policies.


* 20.Which statements describe the type of writing experience you have?
  1. Writing to convey explain a complicated issue.
  2. Writing to influence the opinion or action of others.
  3. Writing to recommend a solution to a problem with supporting documentation and evidence.
  4. Writing to summarize the results of research or a project.
  5. Writing to describe audit findings and recommendations.
  6. I do not have experience writing for any of the above purposes.


* 21.For which audiences have you authored written material?
  1. Government agencies
  2. Internal supervisors / management
  3. Private companies
  4. Lawyers
  5. Industry analysts
  6. Members of the press
  7. Professors / members of the academic community
  8. Peers / coworkers
  9. None of the above


* 22.To which audiences have you given oral presentations?
  1. Peers/coworkers
  2. Professors
  3. Company executives
  4. Compliance officers
  5. Operational staff
  6. Lawyers
  7. Industry analysts
  8. Chairman and commissioners
  9. General public
  10. None of the above


* 23.Select the statements that describe your experience interviewing individuals to gather information.
  1. I have no experience interviewing others.
  2. I have assisted lead interviewers during meetings.
  3. I have independently conducted interviews by reading a structured script.
  4. I have independently conducted unstructured interviews by asking impromptu questions based on the interviewee�s responses.
  5. I have identified/determined the scope of the interview to ensure the appropriateness of the questions I asked.
  6. I have experience eliciting information I need from individuals who are difficult or reticent.
  7. I have trained others on interviewing procedures and techniques.


* 24.Which steps of the audit process have you participated in?
  1. Audit planning
  2. Commencing the audit
  3. Issuing data requests/data collection
  4. Performing field work
  5. Writing work papers
  6. Drawing conclusions
  7. Communicating audit results with the auditee
  8. Reporting on audit results
  9. None of the above


* 25.Do you have experience developing recommendations from an audit that instructed the auditee to implement corrective actions?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 26.Have you performed a financial or operational audit of a public utility (i.e., electric, natural gas, or oil) in a work environment?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 27.Which statement best describes your experience with generally accepted government auditing standards (GAGAS)?
  1. I have not had education or training in applying these principles, nor have I yet applied them on the job.
  2. I have had education or training in applying these principles, but have not yet applied them on the job.
  3. I have applied these principles on the job with close supervision from a supervisor or senior employee.
  4. I have applied these principles as a regular part of the job, independently and usually without the review of a supervisor or senior employee.
  5. I have normally been consulted by others for my expertise and assistance or have trained others in applying these principles.


* 28.Which certifications do you hold?
  1. Certified Public Accountant (CPA)
  2. Certified Internal Auditing (CIA)
  3. Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)
  4. Certified Energy Auditor (CEA)
  5. Certified Quality Auditor (CQA)
  6. None of the above






Privacy Policy |  Ethics |  Open Government Initiative |  Accessibility |  No Fear Act

Disclaimers |  Webmaster |  Continuity of Operations Plan (COOP) |  USA.gov |  Adobe Reader

For Help or Information: JOBS@FERC.gov