Skip Navigation

Vacancy Questions Preview

Vacancy Questions Preview

Grade: 07
* 1.GS-07. Choose one answer that best describes your education and/or experience as it pertains to the basic requirements for this position.
  1. I possess 1 year of graduate level education.
  2. Superior Academic Achievement: I meet one of the following: Upper 3rd of my graduating class based on completed courses; 3.0 or higher out of 4.0 based on 4 years of education, or on courses completed in the final 2 years of curriculum, or a 3.5 or higher based on average of major courses completed, or major courses completed in the final 2 years of curriculum; a member of a national scholastic honor society in accordance with Association of College Honor Societies.
  3. I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-05 level as described below.
  4. I possess a combination of post high school education and experience that together meet the qualification requirements for this position.
  5. I do not meet any of the requirements as described above.


* 2.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) or educational experience in your resume that supports your answer (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


Specialized experience for the GS-7 is defined as experience collecting and analyzing data from basic financial reports on the accounting and financial aspects of financial structures, earnings, depreciation, taxes and intercorporate relationships of individual electric utilities, natural gas and oil pipelines for the purpose of computing financial ratios and cost of capital.

Grade: 09
* 1.GS-09. Choose one answer that best describes your education and/or experience as it pertains to the basic requirements for this position.
  1. I possess 2 full years of progressively higher level graduate education or master`s or equivalent graduate degree (such as an LL.B or J.D.).
  2. I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-07 level as described below.
  3. I possess a combination of graduate level education beyond the first year of progressive graduate study and appropriate experience that together meet the qualification requirements of this position.
  4. I do not meet any of the requirements as described above.


* 2.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) or educational experience in your resume that supports your answer (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


Specialized experience for the GS-9 is defined as experience collecting and analyzing data from a financial data base, reference materials, and utility reports on the accounting and financial aspects of financial structures, earnings, depreciation, taxes and intercorporate relationships of individual electric utilities, natural gas and oil pipelines for the purpose of computing financial ratios and cost of capital.

Grade: All Grades
* 1.I understand submission of supporting documentation, e.g., transcripts, DD 214, SF-50, may be required for this position. I also understand that my application will not be considered if the required supporting documentation is not submitted or is not submitted in accordance with the time frames indicated in the announcement.
  1. True
  2. False


* 2.Select the option that best reflects how you first became aware of this position.
  1. At a college job fair or professional organizational event
  2. Referral from a professional organization
  3. College placement office
  4. Referral from a state or local agency
  5. OPM 's USAJOBS job board
  6. Internet job board (other than USAJOBS)
  7. Magazine or newspaper advertisement
  8. Referral from another Federal agency or Federal employee
  9. Other


* 3.Which Microsoft programs have you used in a work setting?
  1. Microsoft Excel
  2. Microsoft Word
  3. Microsoft PowerPoint
  4. Microsoft Access
  5. Microsoft Outlook
  6. None of the above


* 4.Which statistical software packages have you used?
  1. SAS
  2. STATA
  3. SPSS
  4. None of the above


* 5.Have you taken a formal training course related to research methods, information collection, or data interpretation?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 6.In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 7.Select the responses that best describe your ability to review and analyze financial data and documents in filings by regulated companies.
  1. I have work experience assisting in the review and analysis of financial data associated with the energy industries.
  2. I have completed education/training that included energy related courses.
  3. I have work experience analyzing data and/or materials of a financial nature.
  4. I have work experience that includes reviewing financial documents for accuracy and compliance.
  5. None of the above.


* 8.Describe your level of attention to detail as it applies to analyzing and reviewing financial data.
  1. I have demonstrated attention to detail as it applies to analyzing and reviewing data as part of a school assignment.
  2. I have demonstrated attention to detail as it applies to analyzing and reviewing data occasionally in a work environment.
  3. I have demonstrated attention to detail as it applies to analyzing and reviewing data on a regular basis in a work environment.
  4. None of the above


* 9.Which sections of a financial statement have you prepared.
  1. Balance Sheet
  2. Statement of Income
  3. Statement of Retained Earnings
  4. Statement of Cash Flows
  5. Statement of Financing
  6. Statement of Budgetary Resources
  7. None of the above


* 10.In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 11.Which response best reflects your level of education and experience performing financial statement analysis?
  1. I have not had education, training, or experience in performing financial statement analysis.
  2. I have had education or training in performing this task, but have not yet performed financial statement analysis on the job.
  3. I have performed financial statement analysis on the job, with close supervision from a supervisor or senior employee.
  4. I have routinely and independently performed financial statement analysis as a regular part of my job, and usually without review by supervisor or senior employee.
  5. I have normally been consulted by others for my expertise and assistance or have trained others in applying these principles.


* 12.Which types of documents have you written?
  1. Summary reports
  2. Technical reports
  3. Directives / policies / regulations
  4. Policy guidance
  5. Option papers / decision memos
  6. Journal or newspaper articles
  7. Books or book chapters
  8. Academic / research papers
  9. None of the above


* 13.Select the actions you have performed related to written communication.
  1. Gathered data and organized it to be presented
  2. Wrote technical materials (e.g., reports, memorandums)
  3. Wrote non technical materials (e.g., reports, letters and memorandums)
  4. Completed course work or formal training in written communication
  5. None of the above


* 14.Select the statements that describe your experience in preparing written material.
  1. I have written financial reports related to the gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries and/or energy or financial trading for internal audiences or as part of a school assignment.
  2. I have written parts of financial reports related to the gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries and/or energy or financial trading for internal audiences (within an organization).
  3. I have written parts of financial reports related to the gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries and/or energy or financial trading for external audiences (outside of an organization).
  4. None of the above.


* 15.Select the statements that describe your experience in preparing written material.
  1. I have written financial reports for academic projects and / or classes.
  2. I have written financial reports for internal audiences (within an organization).
  3. I have written financial reports for external audiences (outside of an organization).
  4. I have written briefing material on policies and procedures for a broad internal / external audience.
  5. I have prepared issue papers and / or briefings for subject matter groups and or management officials at all levels of an organization.
  6. I have reviewed and edited reports for accuracy, grammar, organization, and appropriateness for intended audiences.
  7. None of the above.


* 16.1. Select all responses that best describe your experience in communicating financial information related to the natural gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries, and energy and financial trading. (Please circle all that apply)
  1. I have presented financial information regarding the natural gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries and/or energy and financial trading to supervisors or co-workers.
  2. I have presented financial information related to the natural gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries and/or energy or financial trading to external industry representatives or other stakeholders.
  3. I have presented financial subject matter(s) related to natural gas, oil pipeline or electric utilities industries and/or energy or financial trading through Technical Workshop(s).
  4. None of the above.


* 17.Select all responses that best describe your experience in communicating technical information related to the natural gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries, and energy and financial trading.
  1. I have presented technical information regarding the natural gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries and/or energy and financial trading to supervisors or co-workers.
  2. I have presented technical information related to the natural gas, oil pipeline, and electric utilities industries and/or energy or financial trading to external industry representatives or other stakeholders.
  3. I have presented technical subject matter(s) related to natural gas, oil pipeline or electric utilities industries and/or energy or financial trading through Technical Workshop(s).
  4. None of the above.


* 18.Have you completed a class/formal training on the topic of oral communication or public speaking?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 19.In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 20.Select the statements that describe your experience interviewing individuals to gather information.
  1. I have no experience interviewing others.
  2. I have assisted lead interviewers during meetings.
  3. I have independently conducted interviews by reading a structured script.
  4. I have independently conducted unstructured interviews by asking impromptu questions based on the interviewee's responses.
  5. I have indentified/determined the scope of the interview to ensure the appropriateness of the questions to be asked.


* 21.In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 22.Select the statements that describe examples of your interactions with others.
  1. Listens with interest to others' views; thinks before he / she speaks
  2. Provides an open environment in which others are comfortable discussing issues concerns and even disagreeing with his / her positions
  3. Adapts own behavior to work effectively with the different personal styles of others
  4. Creates an environment where others accept differences in beliefs, opinions, and values of others
  5. None of the above


* 23.Do you have formal training in negotiation techniques or the art of persuasion?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 24.In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 25.Select the task you typically perform when working on a team.
  1. I am a major contributor to the team's final product.
  2. I provide input and constructive feedback.
  3. I keep the team motivated to achieve our goal.
  4. I follow the team leader's directions.
  5. None of the above.


* 26.Which choice best describes your typical work environment?
  1. I work mostly by myself.
  2. I routinely work as part of a group with minimal external contact with others outside of the group.
  3. I work as part of a group of peers and have responsibilities which involve contact with personnel at varying levels within the organization.
  4. None of the above.


* 27.Select the response that best describes your level of experience in interpreting and applying energy policies/regulations to complete work assignments.
  1. I have performed this task independently as a regular part of the job.
  2. While I have not interpreted energy policy and/or regulations, I have experience working with policies and/or regulations of a technical nature.
  3. I have performed this task on the job with close supervision from a supervisor or senior employee.
  4. I have had education or training in the energy field, but have not yet performed this task on the job.
  5. None of the above.


* 28.Describe your knowledge and application of the Federal Power Act.
  1. I have studied the Federal Power Act in school but have not applied it in a work setting.
  2. I have occasionally applied my knowledge of the Federal Power Act in a work setting.
  3. I have regularly applied my knowledge of the Federal Power Act in a work setting.
  4. None of the above


* 29.Describe your knowledge and application of the Natural Gas Act.
  1. I have studied the Natural Gas Act in school but have not applied it in a work setting.
  2. I have occasionally applied my knowledge of the Natural Gas Act in a work setting.
  3. I have regularly applied my knowledge of the Natural Gas Act in a work setting.
  4. None of the above


* 30.Describe your knowledge and application of the Interstate Commerce Act.
  1. I have studied the Interstate Commerce Act in school but have not applied it in a work setting.
  2. I have occasionally applied my knowledge of the Interstate Commerce Act in a work setting.
  3. I have regularly applied my knowledge of the Interstate Commerce Act in a work setting.
  4. None of the above






Privacy Policy |  Ethics |  Open Government Initiative |  Accessibility |  No Fear Act

Disclaimers |  Webmaster |  Continuity of Operations Plan (COOP) |  USA.gov |  Adobe Reader

For Help or Information: JOBS@FERC.gov