Skip Navigation

Vacancy Questions Preview

Vacancy Questions Preview

Grade: 09
* 1.Select the choice that best describes your specialized experience.
  1. I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-07 level as described below.
  2. I do not have one full year of specialized experience equivalent to the definition as described below.


For this position specialized experience is defined as: general experience understanding and applying Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) processes in a work setting, able to explain ADR processes to the public, and as a neutral third-party using ADR techniques, such as mediation to resolve conflicts, as part of assigned duties.

* 2.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) or academic assignment(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


Grade: 11
* 1.Select the choice that best describes your specialized experience.
  1. I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-09 level as described below.
  2. I do not have one full year of specialized experience equivalent to the definition as described below.


For this position specialized experience is defined as: experience thoroughly understanding and applying Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) processes in a work setting, coordinating and managing dispute resolution programs and associated administrative and operational functions, and as a neutral third-party using special skills/training, administrative tasks, and information technology, as well as independent ADR techniques such as mediation to resolve conflicts.

* 2.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) or educational experience in your resume that supports your answer (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


Grade: All Grades
* 1.Select the option that best reflects how you first became aware of this position.
  1. At a college job fair or professional organizational event
  2. Referral from a professional organization
  3. College placement office
  4. Referral from a state or local agency
  5. OPM 's USAJOBS job board
  6. Internet job board (other than USAJOBS)
  7. Magazine or newspaper advertisement
  8. Referral from another Federal agency or Federal employee
  9. Other


* 2.I understand submission of supporting documentation, e.g., transcripts, DD 214, SF-50, may be required for this position. I also understand that my application will not be considered if the required supporting documentation is not submitted or is not submitted in accordance with the time frames indicated in the announcement.
  1. True
  2. False


* 3.Select the response that best describes your highest level of experience in applying alternative dispute resolution (ADR) or conflict resolution techniques such as mediation and facilitation, to addressing business, environmental, interpersonal or public conflicts.
  1. I do not have experience resolving disputes using ADR or conflict resolution techniques.
  2. I have theoretical knowledge of the applications of mediation and other ADR techniques from my graduate course work in conflict resolution, but do not have practical experience in resolving disputes as a mediator or neutral third party using other ADR techniques.
  3. I wrote a Master's thesis or Doctoral dissertation on conflict resolution or conducted an internship to fulfill my graduate degree requirements on conflict resolution, but do not yet have on-the-job-experience.
  4. I am trained in conflict resolution methods and have mediated and facilitated disputes as a neutral third-party on the job.


* 4.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 5.Which response best describes your highest level of knowledge and application of the Administrative Dispute Resolution Act (ADRA) and subsequent ADRA policy statements and directives.
  1. I have no knowledge nor application of the ADRA and subsequent ADRA policy statements and directives.
  2. I have familiarity with the ADRA and related policy statements, but have not applied it in a work setting.
  3. I have occasionally applied my knowledge of the ADRA in a work setting.
  4. I have regularly applied my knowledge of ADRA in a work setting.


* 6.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 7.Which response best describes your highest level of knowledge of or level of experience with innovative approaches to prevent or resolve conflict and in determining the process to fit the problem.
  1. I have regularly both applied my knowledge and screened cases for mediation and other conflict resolution techniques on cases or projects in a work setting.
  2. I have occasionally applied my knowledge of mediation and other conflict resolution techniques on cases or projects in a work setting
  3. I have theoretical knowledge of the principles, theories and dynamics of innovative approaches to conflict resolution.
  4. I do not have experience or knowledge of these principles, or approaches as they relate to this question.


* 8.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 9.Are you certified in mediation or other alternative dispute resolution methods through a training program?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 10.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 11.Do you have a master's degree in conflict resolution?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 12.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 13.Which of the following best describes your highest level of experience in developing training materials on conflict prevention and resolution?
  1. I do not have experience developing course materials on conflict resolution for a training program.
  2. I worked as part of a team to develop course materials on conflict resolution.
  3. I developed a training course on conflict prevention and resolution for my peers.
  4. I developed a training course on conflict prevention and resolution for specialized, professional audiences other than my peers.


* 14.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 15.Which response best describes your highest level of experience in assessing and recommending the training needs of particular groups to prevent and resolve conflict using alternative dispute resolution (ADR) techniques?
  1. I developed a training course on conflict prevention and resolution for specialized professional audiences other than my peers.
  2. I developed a training course on conflict prevention and resolution for my peers.
  3. I worked as part of a team to develop course materials on conflict resolution.
  4. I do not have experience developing course materials on conflict resolution for a training program.


* 16.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) or academic assignment(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 17.Do you have experience conducting training on conflict prevention and conflict resolution techniques in an academic, community or work setting?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 18.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) or academic assignment(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 19.Which of the following tasks have you performed when developing training materials for conflict prevention and resolution courses?
  1. I have conducted research from credible sources in the field of conflict resolution.
  2. I have used creativity in developing new course materials for targeted audiences based on my research and own experience with the application of conflict resolution techniques.
  3. I have used existing or develop new role plays for the audience so the audience can learn by practicing conflict resolution techniques.
  4. I have rehearsed my training in order to ensure I convey the information properly in a polished format and adhere to the time allotted for the training material presented to others.
  5. None of the above.


* 20.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) or educational experience in your resume that supports your answer (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 21.Which response best describes your highest level of experience in developing outreach materials on alternative dispute resolution(ADR)techniques to educate others?
  1. I have prepared professional outreach materials on ADR techniques such as brochures and newsletters, and used a variety of media to disseminate the educational information to others.
  2. I have prepared professional outreach materials on ADR techniques such as brochures and newsletters.
  3. I have prepared outreach materials on ADR to educate others as part of my course requirements.
  4. I do not have experience developing ADR techniques to educate others.


* 22.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 23.Select the response that best describes your highest level of experience with implementing an ADR outreach program on conflict prevention and resolution.
  1. I have no or little experience with implementing an ADR outreach program on conflict prevention and resolution.
  2. I have assisted others in an academic or a work setting with planning events to raise the awareness of the benefits of ADR and conflict prevention and resolution.
  3. I have planned events on my own in an academic or work setting to raise the awareness of the benefits of ADR and conflict prevention and resolution.


* 24.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 25.Select the task(s) you have performed in planning and launching an ADR outreach program on conflict prevention and resolution.
  1. I have conducted marketing research on state-of-the art outreach programs in the conflict resolution field.
  2. I have researched current literature that addresses how to connect and appeal to a targeted audience through a variety of outreach materials and different multimedia.
  3. I have assessed the in-house capabilities including collaborating with others to produce the best possible ADR outreach product.
  4. I have developed a roll out plan to launch the ADR outreach product to maximize its visibility.
  5. None of the above.


* 26.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) or academic assignment(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 27.Have you developed professional outreach materials on conflict resolution that were used in publications?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 28.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 29.Which response best describes your highest level of experience with developing an alternative dispute resolution(ADR)program to address and resolve conflict?
  1. I have experience with the design of an ADR program to address and resolve conflict in a work setting that also expanded the use of ADR among stakeholders.
  2. I have experience with contributing to the development of an ADR program to address and resolve conflict in a work setting.
  3. I have experience with designing an ADR program to address and resolve conflict based on research for credit for academic courses and/ or projects.
  4. I have no experience with developing an ADR program to address and resolve conflict.


* 30.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 31.Which response best describes your knowledge of designing a dispute resolution program to prevent and resolve conflict.
  1. I do not have knowledge of how to design a dispute resolution program to prevent and resolve conflict.
  2. I have theoretical knowledge of dispute resolution design based on academic research and course credit.
  3. I have occasionally applied my knowledge of dispute resolution design in a work setting.
  4. I regularly applied my knowledge of dispute resolution design in a work setting.


* 32.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 33.Select the task(s)have you performed in implementing an ADR or conflict resolution program in a clinical or work setting.
  1. I have assisted with analyzing data on one or multiple phases of an existing ADR program.
  2. I have assisted with developing tools such as surveys to gather information on an ADR program.
  3. I have assisted with evaluating one or multiple aspects of an ADR program to examine its effectiveness.
  4. I have analyzed data on ADR activities for superiors to use to improve the effectiveness of an ADR program and/or institutionalize ADR processes.
  5. None of the above.


* 34.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 35.Do you have experience with expanding the use of ADR
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 36.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 37.In which of the following setting(s)have you communicated orally regarding alternative dispute resolution (ADR) techniques and conflict resolution tools.
  1. I have presented on ADR techniques and conflict resolution tools for course credit in an academic setting.
  2. I have presented on ADR techniques and conflict resolution tools in a professional format to co-workers, subordinates, and/or superiors in a work setting.
  3. I have presented to external audiences on ADR techniques and conflict resolution tools such as a paper at a professional conference or a mock mediation as a contestant at a regional, national or international competition on ADR.
  4. None of the above.


* 38.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 39.Select the document(s)you have had experience writing related to alternative dispute resolution (ADR) techniques and conflict resolution tools.
  1. I have written analytic documents on ADR techniques and conflict resolution tools for credit for academic courses and/ or projects.
  2. I have written professional technical reports on ADR and conflict resolution tools in a work setting.
  3. I have published materials such as analytic papers on ADR techniques and conflict resolution tools.
  4. None of the above.


* 40.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 41.Have you completed a class or a formal training program on the topic of oral communication or public speaking?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 42.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.






Privacy Policy |  Ethics |  Open Government Initiative |  Accessibility |  No Fear Act

Disclaimers |  Webmaster |  Continuity of Operations Plan (COOP) |  USA.gov |  Adobe Reader

For Help or Information: JOBS@FERC.gov