Skip Navigation

Vacancy Questions Preview

Vacancy Questions Preview

Grade: All Grades
* 1.I understand submission of supporting documentation, e.g., transcripts, DD 214, SF-50, may be required for this position. I also understand that my application will not be considered if the required supporting documentation is not submitted or is not submitted in accordance with the time frames indicated in the announcement.
  1. True
  2. False


* 2.Select the option that best reflects how you first became aware of this position.
  1. At a college job fair or professional organizational event
  2. Referral from a professional organization
  3. College placement office
  4. Referral from a state or local agency
  5. OPM 's USAJOBS job board
  6. Internet job board (other than USAJOBS)
  7. Magazine or newspaper advertisement
  8. Referral from another Federal agency or Federal employee
  9. Other


* 3.Do you meet the basic educational requirement for Engineer as described in vacancy announcement?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 4.Select the choice that best describes your specialized experience.
  1. I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-13 level as described below.
  2. I do not have one full year of specialized experience equivalent to the definition as described below.


Experience in applying structural engineering to the investigation, design, construction, operation, and maintenance of dams and hydroelectric power facilities.

* 5.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 6.Select the statement(s) that describe your experience working with dams.
  1. I have experience performing dam safety engineering inspections.
  2. I have experience performing engineering analysis.
  3. I have experience performing computer modeling on dams.
  4. I have no experience working with dams.


* 7.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 8.Select the response which best describes your level of experience and knowledge of structural engineering?
  1. I have expert-level experience working in structural engineering. I have supervised or trained staff in performance of related engineering or technical tasks.
  2. I have experience as a recurring part of my job working in structural engineering. I independently (or as an equally contributing member of a work team) complete a broad range of engineering/technical tasks directly related to structural engineering. I perform these tasks with little to no review from a senior employee. I may also provide information, guidance or instruction to less experienced staff in this area.
  3. I have some experience working in structural engineering. I perform related engineering/technical tasks on an infrequent basis or under close review or supervision from a senior employee.
  4. I do not have experience as described above.


* 9.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 10.Which steps of the inspection and analysis process related to what area of structural engineering have you contributed to in a professional environment?
  1. Field inspection of structures
  2. Structural analysis
  3. Authored engineering reports providing conclusions and recommendations on structural adequacy
  4. Provided review of plan of action to correct structural deficiencies
  5. None of the above


* 11.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 12.What is the highest level of structural analysis that you have performed?
  1. Dynamic analyses incorporating material and or geometric non-linearities
  2. Static analyses incorporating material and or geometric non-linearities
  3. Small deflection linear elastic analyses
  4. None of the above


* 13.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 14.Which software programs have you used to perform structural analyses in a professional environment?
  1. FLAC
  2. FLAC 3D
  3. ADINA
  4. SAP2000CSI
  5. Other
  6. None of the above


* 15.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 16.Which hydraulic analyses have you independently performed on the job?
  1. Flood frequency estimation
  2. Open channel flow
  3. PMP/PMF Analysis
  4. Dam break estimation
  5. None of the above


* 17.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 18.Select the response which best describes your level of experience and knowledge of seismic engineering?
  1. I have expert-level experience working in seismic engineering. I have supervised or trained staff in performance of related engineering or technical tasks.
  2. I have experience as a recurring part of my job working in seismic engineering. I independently (or as an equally contributing member of a work team) complete a broad range of engineering/technical tasks directly related to seismic engineering. I perform these tasks with little to no review from a senior employee. I may also provide information, guidance or instruction to less experienced staff in this area.
  3. I have some experience working in seismic engineering. I perform related engineering/technical tasks on an infrequent basis or under close review or supervision from a senior employee.
  4. I do not have experience as described above.


* 19.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 20.Which structures do you have experience inspecting for overall condition?
  1. gravity dams
  2. arch dams
  3. slab dams
  4. buttress dams
  5. spillway gates
  6. penstocks
  7. pipelines
  8. None of the above


* 21.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 22.Select the response which best describes your level of experience and knowledge of remediation, security, operation and environmental effects of hydropower projects.
  1. I have expert-level experience working in remediation, security, operation and environmental effects of hydropower projects. I have supervised or trained staff in performance of related engineering or technical tasks.
  2. I have some experience working in remediation, security, operation or environmental design of hydropower projects (at least 3 of these areas). I perform related engineering/technical tasks on an infrequent basis or under close review or supervision from a senior employee.
  3. I have limited experience working in remediation, security, operation or environmental design of hydropower projects (at least 2 of these areas). I perform related engineering/technical tasks on an infrequent basis or under close review or supervision for a senior employee.
  4. I do not have experience as described above.


* 23.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 24.Select the response that best describes your level of experience and knowledge of Risk-Informed Decision-Making (RIDM) as related to the evaluation of dam safety.
  1. I have expert-level experience in RIDM. I have been responsible for making risk-informed decisions related to the safety of dams
  2. I have experience as a recurring part of my job in using RIDM. I independently (or as an equally contributing team member) complete a broad range of tasks related to risk analysis and/or risk assessments for use by decision-makers.
  3. I have some experience with RIDM. I perform related engineering/technical tasks on an infrequent basis or under close supervision from a senior employee.
  4. I have no experience using RIDM.


* 25.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 26.In what aspects of Risk-Informed Decision-Making do you have experience?
  1. I have participated in multiple risk assessments that supported the use of RIDM related to dam safety
  2. I have contributed technical work products in support of risk analyses related to dam safety
  3. I have facilitated risk assessments related to dam safety
  4. I have facilitated Potential Failure Mode Analysis (PFMA) sessions
  5. I have participated in PFMA sessions.
  6. I have completed Screening Level risk assessments (FERC SLPRA or eq.)
  7. Probabilistic Seismic Hazard Assessments (PSHA)
  8. Flood Frequency Analyses
  9. Decision Tree analysis
  10. Fault Tree analysis
  11. Systems Engineering
  12. Life loss consequence estimation/evaluation
  13. Economic consequence estimation/evaluation
  14. None of the above


* 27.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 28.Do you hold a Professional Engineering License?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 29.Which actions have you performed when completing a written document?
  1. Submitted a document that I drafted for review
  2. Added additional information to a document that someone else wrote
  3. Edited someone else�s written document for clarity, interpretation, and tone
  4. Edited someone else�s written document for spelling, grammar, and thought organization
  5. Reviewed someone else�s written document for fact and / or data accuracy
  6. None of the above


* 30.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 31.Which statements describe your experience developing inspection and analysis reports?
  1. I have provided first drafts.
  2. I have reviewed and commented on other's drafts for grammar, spelling, and clarity.
  3. I have proofed inspection and analysis reports for technical accuracy.
  4. I have been responsible for final products.
  5. I have had signature authority.
  6. None of the above.


* 32.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 33.Do you have experience presenting and justifying / defending a technical position in a work environment?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 34.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 35.Select the statement that best describes your highest level of communicating and coordinating with engineers and key decision makers regarding dam safety information.
  1. I routinely (as a regular part of the job) communicate and coordinate verbally and in writing with engineers and key decision makers regarding dam safety information. I independently (or with little review) complete tasks associated with this process.
  2. I have some experience communicating and coordinating with engineers or key decision makers regarding dam safety information. I have assisted senior staff in this process or I have completed some of the tasks associated with this process independently but on an infrequent or limited basis.
  3. I do not have communication and coordination experience specifically with regards to dam safety information, but I do have experience communicating and coordinating with engineers or key decision makers on other engineering disciplines.
  4. None of the above


* 36.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 37.What types of information do you have experience presenting orally?
  1. Technical information
  2. Non-technical information
  3. School projects
  4. Modeling
  5. Results of assessments and investigations
  6. Recommendations
  7. Policies or procedures
  8. None of the above


* 38.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 39.Select responses that describe your experience related to oral communication.
  1. I have communicated information to groups or individuals in order to instruct or lead.
  2. I have communicated information to groups or individuals in order to persuade / negotiate.
  3. I have conducted informal training to others on an individual basis.
  4. I have conducted informal training to groups.
  5. I have conducted formal training sessions on economic and technical issues.
  6. I have represented management in meetings / conferences.
  7. None of the above


* 40.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 41.I have experience developing and presenting expert and reliable dam safety information.
  1. True
  2. False


* 42.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.






Privacy Policy |  Ethics |  Open Government Initiative |  Accessibility |  No Fear Act

Disclaimers |  Webmaster |  Continuity of Operations Plan (COOP) |  USA.gov |  Adobe Reader

For Help or Information: JOBS@FERC.gov