Skip to main content

Grade: 14

No specific questions.

Grade: All Grades

1 I understand submission of supporting documentation, e.g., transcripts, DD 214, SF-50, may be required for this position. I also understand that my application will not be considered if the required supporting documentation is not submitted or is not submitted in accordance with the time frames indicated in the announcement. Answer to this question is required
  • True
  • False
2 Select the option that best reflects how you first became aware of this position. Answer to this question is required
  • At a college job fair or professional organizational event
  • Referral from a professional organization
  • College placement office
  • Referral from a state or local agency
  • OPM 's USAJOBS job board
  • Internet job board (other than USAJOBS)
  • Magazine or newspaper advertisement
  • Referral from another Federal agency or Federal employee
  • Other
3 Do you meet the basic educational requirement for Engineer as described in vacancy announcement? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
4 Select the choice that best describes your specialized experience. Answer to this question is required
  • I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-13 level as described below.
  • I do not have one full year of specialized experience equivalent to the definition as described below.
Experience in applying structural engineering to the investigation, design, construction, operation, and maintenance of dams and hydroelectric power facilities.
5 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
6 Select the statement(s) that describe your experience working with dams. Answer to this question is required
  • I have experience performing dam safety engineering inspections.
  • I have experience performing engineering analysis.
  • I have experience performing computer modeling on dams.
  • I have no experience working with dams.
7 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
8 Select the response which best describes your level of experience and knowledge of structural engineering? Answer to this question is required
  • I have expert-level experience working in structural engineering. I have supervised or trained staff in performance of related engineering or technical tasks.
  • I have experience as a recurring part of my job working in structural engineering. I independently (or as an equally contributing member of a work team) complete a broad range of engineering/technical tasks directly related to structural engineering. I perform these tasks with little to no review from a senior employee. I may also provide information, guidance or instruction to less experienced staff in this area.
  • I have some experience working in structural engineering. I perform related engineering/technical tasks on an infrequent basis or under close review or supervision from a senior employee.
  • I do not have experience as described above.
9 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
10 Which steps of the inspection and analysis process related to what area of structural engineering have you contributed to in a professional environment? Answer to this question is required
  • Field inspection of structures
  • Structural analysis
  • Authored engineering reports providing conclusions and recommendations on structural adequacy
  • Provided review of plan of action to correct structural deficiencies
  • None of the above
11 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
12 What is the highest level of structural analysis that you have performed? Answer to this question is required
  • Dynamic analyses incorporating material and or geometric non-linearities
  • Static analyses incorporating material and or geometric non-linearities
  • Small deflection linear elastic analyses
  • None of the above
13 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
14 Which software programs have you used to perform structural analyses in a professional environment? Answer to this question is required
  • FLAC
  • FLAC 3D
  • ADINA
  • SAP2000CSI
  • Other
  • None of the above
15 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
16 Which hydraulic analyses have you independently performed on the job? Answer to this question is required
  • Flood frequency estimation
  • Open channel flow
  • PMP/PMF Analysis
  • Dam break estimation
  • None of the above
17 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
18 Select the response which best describes your level of experience and knowledge of seismic engineering? Answer to this question is required
  • I have expert-level experience working in seismic engineering. I have supervised or trained staff in performance of related engineering or technical tasks.
  • I have experience as a recurring part of my job working in seismic engineering. I independently (or as an equally contributing member of a work team) complete a broad range of engineering/technical tasks directly related to seismic engineering. I perform these tasks with little to no review from a senior employee. I may also provide information, guidance or instruction to less experienced staff in this area.
  • I have some experience working in seismic engineering. I perform related engineering/technical tasks on an infrequent basis or under close review or supervision from a senior employee.
  • I do not have experience as described above.
19 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
20 Which structures do you have experience inspecting for overall condition? Answer to this question is required
  • gravity dams
  • arch dams
  • slab dams
  • buttress dams
  • spillway gates
  • penstocks
  • pipelines
  • None of the above
21 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
22 Select the response which best describes your level of experience and knowledge of remediation, security, operation and environmental effects of hydropower projects. Answer to this question is required
  • I have expert-level experience working in remediation, security, operation and environmental effects of hydropower projects. I have supervised or trained staff in performance of related engineering or technical tasks.
  • I have some experience working in remediation, security, operation or environmental design of hydropower projects (at least 3 of these areas). I perform related engineering/technical tasks on an infrequent basis or under close review or supervision from a senior employee.
  • I have limited experience working in remediation, security, operation or environmental design of hydropower projects (at least 2 of these areas). I perform related engineering/technical tasks on an infrequent basis or under close review or supervision for a senior employee.
  • I do not have experience as described above.
23 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
24 Select the response that best describes your level of experience and knowledge of Risk-Informed Decision-Making (RIDM) as related to the evaluation of dam safety. Answer to this question is required
  • I have expert-level experience in RIDM. I have been responsible for making risk-informed decisions related to the safety of dams
  • I have experience as a recurring part of my job in using RIDM. I independently (or as an equally contributing team member) complete a broad range of tasks related to risk analysis and/or risk assessments for use by decision-makers.
  • I have some experience with RIDM. I perform related engineering/technical tasks on an infrequent basis or under close supervision from a senior employee.
  • I have no experience using RIDM.
25 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
26 In what aspects of Risk-Informed Decision-Making do you have experience? Answer to this question is required
  • I have participated in multiple risk assessments that supported the use of RIDM related to dam safety
  • I have contributed technical work products in support of risk analyses related to dam safety
  • I have facilitated risk assessments related to dam safety
  • I have facilitated Potential Failure Mode Analysis (PFMA) sessions
  • I have participated in PFMA sessions.
  • I have completed Screening Level risk assessments (FERC SLPRA or eq.)
  • Probabilistic Seismic Hazard Assessments (PSHA)
  • Flood Frequency Analyses
  • Decision Tree analysis
  • Fault Tree analysis
  • Systems Engineering
  • Life loss consequence estimation/evaluation
  • Economic consequence estimation/evaluation
  • None of the above
27 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
28 Do you hold a Professional Engineering License? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
29 Which actions have you performed when completing a written document? Answer to this question is required
  • Submitted a document that I drafted for review
  • Added additional information to a document that someone else wrote
  • Edited someone else�s written document for clarity, interpretation, and tone
  • Edited someone else�s written document for spelling, grammar, and thought organization
  • Reviewed someone else�s written document for fact and / or data accuracy
  • None of the above
30 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
31 Which statements describe your experience developing inspection and analysis reports? Answer to this question is required
  • I have provided first drafts.
  • I have reviewed and commented on other's drafts for grammar, spelling, and clarity.
  • I have proofed inspection and analysis reports for technical accuracy.
  • I have been responsible for final products.
  • I have had signature authority.
  • None of the above.
32 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
33 Do you have experience presenting and justifying / defending a technical position in a work environment? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
34 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
35 Select the statement that best describes your highest level of communicating and coordinating with engineers and key decision makers regarding dam safety information. Answer to this question is required
  • I routinely (as a regular part of the job) communicate and coordinate verbally and in writing with engineers and key decision makers regarding dam safety information. I independently (or with little review) complete tasks associated with this process.
  • I have some experience communicating and coordinating with engineers or key decision makers regarding dam safety information. I have assisted senior staff in this process or I have completed some of the tasks associated with this process independently but on an infrequent or limited basis.
  • I do not have communication and coordination experience specifically with regards to dam safety information, but I do have experience communicating and coordinating with engineers or key decision makers on other engineering disciplines.
  • None of the above
36 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
37 What types of information do you have experience presenting orally? Answer to this question is required
  • Technical information
  • Non-technical information
  • School projects
  • Modeling
  • Results of assessments and investigations
  • Recommendations
  • Policies or procedures
  • None of the above
38 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
39 Select responses that describe your experience related to oral communication. Answer to this question is required
  • I have communicated information to groups or individuals in order to instruct or lead.
  • I have communicated information to groups or individuals in order to persuade / negotiate.
  • I have conducted informal training to others on an individual basis.
  • I have conducted informal training to groups.
  • I have conducted formal training sessions on economic and technical issues.
  • I have represented management in meetings / conferences.
  • None of the above
40 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
41 I have experience developing and presenting expert and reliable dam safety information. Answer to this question is required
  • True
  • False
42 In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required