Skip Navigation

Vacancy Questions Preview

Vacancy Questions Preview

Grade: 11
* 1.Choose one answer that best describes your education and/or experience as it pertains to the basic requirements for this position.
  1. I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-9 level as described below.
  2. I possess a Ph.D. or equivalent doctoral degree.
  3. I possess 3 full years of progressively higher level graduate education leading to a Ph.D. or equivalent doctoral degree.
  4. I do not meet any of the requirements as described above.


Required specialized experience at the GS-9 is defined as experience independently conducting routine research regarding the physical fundamentals of electricity markets and/or electric grid (bulk power system, bulk electric system, high voltage transmission, and/or power generation) operations. You must be able to present your findings in writing and orally.

* 2.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


Grade: 12
* 1.Select the choice that best describes your specialized experience.
  1. I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-11 level as described below.
  2. I do not have one full year of specialized experience equivalent to the definition as described below.


Required specialized experience at the GS-11 is defined as experience independently conducting moderately difficult research and quantitatively analyzing the physical fundamentals of electricity markets and/or electric grid (bulk power system, bulk electric system, high voltage transmission, and/or power generation) operations. You must be able to present your findings in writing and orally.

* 2.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


Grade: All Grades
* 1.Select the option that best reflects how you first became aware of this position.
  1. At a college job fair or professional organizational event
  2. Referral from a professional organization
  3. College placement office
  4. Referral from a state or local agency
  5. OPM 's USAJOBS job board
  6. Internet job board (other than USAJOBS)
  7. Magazine or newspaper advertisement
  8. Referral from another Federal agency or Federal employee
  9. Other


* 2.I understand submission of supporting documentation, e.g., transcripts, DD 214, SF-50, may be required for this position. I also understand that my application will not be considered if the required supporting documentation is not submitted or is not submitted in accordance with the time frames indicated in the announcement.
  1. True
  2. False


* 3.Do you have experience in performing analysis on electricity markets, including data from one or more Regional Transmission Operator or Independent System Operator markets?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 4.In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 5.Select all responses that describe your knowledge of and/or experience related to the functioning of the electricity markets.
  1. I have analyzed issues associated with the physical supply-demand fundamentals of electricity markets.
  2. I have analyzed issues associated with the pricing of electricity.
  3. I have analyzed the interactions between the natural gas and the electricity markets.
  4. I have analyzed the interrelationships between physical electricity market constraints in one or more regions of the U.S. and their influences on trading prices and volumes in trading locations or hubs in the U.S.
  5. I am familiar with electricity pricing, including indexed transactions, fixed price transactions, and transactions associated with electricity forward transactions.
  6. I am interested in electricity markets, but am not familiar with the issues and policies related to the U.S. electricity markets.


* 6.Select all those responses that best describe your knowledge and experience related to data analysis with electricity markets.
  1. I have routinely identified and selected statistical, econometric, and/or quantitative business models and conceived and applied methodological analysis details on electric industry data, and ensured that the results produced are consistent with a unified set of analysis objectives.
  2. I have routinely implemented data manipulation and analysis techniques and cleaned and prepared data set(s) from raw data as part my job responsibility.
  3. I have used two or more large economic, financial, energy or other database(s) to analyze trading activity, market participant physical positions and/or market participant financial positions.
  4. I have routinely and systematically documented the details of the methodology adopted and the model assumptions, such that my analytical work is transparent and the results could be replicated, and the caveats associated with interpreting the resulting model results.
  5. None of the above.


* 7.Select all responses that describe your knowledge and experience in performing analysis.
  1. I have completed two or more analytical projects in electric industry operations and/or economics.
  2. I have conceived, designed, and/or developed analytical methodology to analyze the relevant issues associated with electric industry.
  3. I have successfully implemented and completed analysis projects related to the electric industry on time and within the available resources.
  4. I have routinely and systematically used salient data for my analysis, such as Ventyx's Energy Velocity, Bloomberg, Platts, and Genscape.
  5. I have routinely presented the results of my analysis in a structured format (such as a report, paper, memorandum or presentation) to my supervisor(s) and/or to other stakeholders.
  6. None of the above.


* 8.Do you have experience in working on electricity market matters? (Relevant experience of interest includes work in industry, government, and/or academia.)
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 9.In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 10.Select all responses that describe your knowledge of and/or experience related to the electric industry.
  1. I have examined the supply of electricity in one or more regions of the U.S. and am familiar with electric generation technology, capital and fuel cost trends, and the influence of generation costs on prices.
  2. I have examined the demand for electricity in one or more regions of the U.S. and the influence of market fundamentals on electricity market prices across various trading locations or hubs in the U.S.
  3. I am familiar with the operation of electric power generation facilities and have analyzed their influences on transmission operations.
  4. I am familiar with transmission facilities and have analyzed the influences of transmission congestion on electricity trade.
  5. I am familiar with financial and operations data collection by electric utilities and have analyzed the data in operations studies and/or econometric studies.
  6. I am interested in learning about these issues, but have not analyzed these issues.


* 11.Select all responses that best describe your knowledge of and/or experience related to the market rules and functioning of the U.S. Electricity markets.
  1. I have examined selected aspects of market rules related to one or more product markets (such as energy, capacity or ancillary service markets) in one or more of the ISO's/RTO's wholesale electricity markets.
  2. I have analyzed the inter-relationships between different parts of the wholesale electricity markets, such as capacity markets, energy markets, and ancillary services markets.
  3. I have examined various revenue sources of market participants in one or more ISO/RTO wholesale electricity markets.
  4. I have analyzed issues related to treatment of demand response and renewable energy.
  5. I am interested in learning about and working on these issues, but have not analyzed these issues.


* 12.Select all responses that best describe your knowledge of and/or experience related to Electricity.
  1. I have analyzed issues associated with the physical electricity markets and have written and/or contributed to writing white papers and technical reports on one or more key aspects of the electricity markets.
  2. I am familiar with some of the key electricity financial instruments available in the U.S. markets and understand how they are used in conjunction with the physical electricity markets.
  3. I have researched the interactions between the electricity and the natural gas markets, and can explain the impacts of changes to conditions in one market on the other market.
  4. I am familiar with one or more key Presidential and Legislative energy policy mandates of interest to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC), such as the Federal Power Act and Energy Policy Act of 2005 and 1992, and with one or more of the Commission's Regulations and Policies, such as the FERC Orders 681, 888, 889, and 2000 and understand the role of the FERC in overseeing the U.S. electricity markets.
  5. I am interested in electricity markets, but am not familiar with the issues and policies related to the U.S. electricity markets.


* 13.Select all responses that describe your knowledge of and/or experience related to electricity market regulation.
  1. I am familiar with the regulatory structure of US electricity markets, from generation to transmission to distribution, and drafted market reports and/or detailed technical reports on various aspects of the electricity markets, such as their structure and economics.
  2. I am familiar with major FERC Orders, such as Order Nos. 888 and 890, and their influence on electricity market transparency.
  3. I have routinely worked individually or as part of a team to interpret the Commission's rules, regulations, and policies.
  4. I have examined other federal and/or state regulations relevant to electricity markets, such as rules and regulations on power plant emissions or resource adequacy.
  5. I am interested in electricity market regulation, but have not worked on these issues and policies.


* 14.Have you written market reports or documents related to the electricity industries?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 15.In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 16.Select all statements that describe your experience in preparing written material.
  1. I have written market reports related to the electricity markets (within an organization).
  2. I have written many market reports related to the electricity markets for external audiences (outside of an organization).
  3. I have routinely prepared market reviews and/or briefings related to the electricity industry.
  4. None of the above.


* 17.Select all those responses that best describe your contribution to the preparation of written products.
  1. I have reviewed and provided grammar, spelling, and organization edits to others' drafts in relation to the electric utilities industries.
  2. I have proofed documents related to the electrify industries specifically for technical accuracy.
  3. I have consolidated reports as they relate to the electricity utilities industries from others into a final product.
  4. I have independently produced written products related to the electricity utilities industries from start to finish.
  5. None of the above.


* 18.Select all those responses that best describe the following purposes for which you have you written documents.
  1. Internal publications such as weekly market reports, state of markets, summer assessment
  2. Distribution to internal stakeholders (e.g., Directors, senior management, industry analyst) Position Papers
  3. Distribution to industry stakeholders (e.g., external senior management)
  4. Distribution to team participants
  5. None of the above


* 19.Have you made oral presentations on electric market concepts and outcomes?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 20.In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 21.Select all responses that best describe your experience in communicating technical information related to the electricity industry.
  1. I have presented and led presentations of market information regarding the electricity industry to supervisors or co-workers.
  2. I have made technical presentations on issue(s) related to electricity markets in industry, professional, technical or academic conference(s).
  3. None of the above.


* 22.Select the responses that describe your experience communicating orally.
  1. I have interviewed or questioned others to gather needed information relating to the electricity industry.
  2. I have briefed industry leaders, including executives or Commissioners about electricity markets.
  3. I have given brief presentations or updates at meetings (e.g. staff meetings) relating to the electricity market.
  4. I have discussed and explained controversial or sensitive material relating to the electricity market with colleagues and supervisors.
  5. None of the above.


* 23.For which events have you communicated information orally to others?
  1. Informal Briefings
  2. Professional / stakeholder conferences
  3. Staff meetings with senior staff
  4. Hearings / depositions
  5. Telephone inquiries
  6. Town hall meetings
  7. Training courses
  8. Work group meetings
  9. None of the above






Privacy Policy |  Ethics |  Open Government Initiative |  Accessibility |  No Fear Act

Disclaimers |  Webmaster |  Continuity of Operations Plan (COOP) |  USA.gov |  Adobe Reader

For Help or Information: JOBS@FERC.gov