Skip Navigation

Vacancy Questions Preview

Vacancy Questions Preview

Grade: All Grades
* 1.Select the option that best reflects how you first became aware of this position.
  1. At a college job fair or professional organizational event
  2. Referral from a professional organization
  3. College placement office
  4. Referral from a state or local agency
  5. OPM 's USAJOBS job board
  6. Internet job board (other than USAJOBS)
  7. Magazine or newspaper advertisement
  8. Referral from another Federal agency or Federal employee
  9. Other


* 2.I understand submission of supporting documentation, e.g., transcripts, DD 214, SF-50, may be required for this position. I also understand that my application will not be considered if the required supporting documentation is not submitted or is not submitted in accordance with the time frames indicated in the announcement.
  1. True
  2. False


* 3.Select the choice that best describes your specialized experience.
  1. I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-14 level as described below.
  2. I do not have one full year of specialized experience equivalent to the definition as described below.


Required specialized experience is defined as having experience in operational management for electronic filing, electronic registration, electronic subscription, publication, and document management and research.

* 4.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 5.Select the responses that describe your experience communicating orally.
  1. I have interviewed or questioned others to gather needed information relating to project activities.
  2. I have provided information on project activities to others to defend my or my team's position.
  3. I have given brief presentations or updates at meetings relating to project activities.
  4. I have discussed and explained controversial or sensitive material relating to project activities.
  5. I have persuaded others based on facts gathered and determinations made as they relate to project activities.
  6. None of the above


* 6.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 7.This position requires the ability to communicate effectively, including the ability to explain complex, technical requirements and systems to staff and end users. Please select all of the following types of communication duties you have performed as a regular part of your job or education. (choose all that apply)
  1. Gathered information for assignments in order to coordinate work efforts
  2. Facilitated communications and activities between organizational entities
  3. Negotiated policy changes
  4. Mediated or facilitated problem resolution
  5. Presented, defended, and/or negotiated specific mission goals and needs with senior management and contract representatives
  6. Briefed senior management on organizational issues or similar topics
  7. Articulated overall work plans, criteria and timetables for technical assignments
  8. Independently planned, hosted and conducted meetings
  9. Served on panels, committees or task forces on technical, programmatic and/or professional issues
  10. Consulted regularly by others on technical, programmatic and/or professional issues
  11. None of the above


* 8.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 9.Select the statement that best describes your highest level of experience communicating with customers and colleagues.
  1. I have received training for this task either on the job or through formal classes, but have not yet performed it on the job.
  2. I routinely communicate with internal customers and colleagues and follow-up on all inquiries/requests for action.
  3. On my own initiative, I have communicated with both internal and external customers and colleagues in order to provide or gather information.
  4. I routinely communicate with all levels of colleagues and customers, including high-level officials, in order to provide or gather information.
  5. None of the above.


* 10.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 11.Select the responses that best describe your communication skills.
  1. I have regularly served as a program representative in dealing with managers and employees within the areas serviced. This included acquiring, clarifying or exchanging facts and information needed to complete assignments.
  2. I have regularly justified, persuaded, negotiated, or resolved matters involving significant or controversial policy or program issues. This included communicating effectively and harmoniously with a full range of internal and external individuals.
  3. I have regularly conducted discussions or participated in workgroups as a program representative, in which the purpose was to influence, motivate, or persuade persons or groups. This included using communication skills to approach individuals or groups.
  4. I have regularly served as a program representative and participated in discussions in which the purpose was to plan, coordinate, or consult on work efforts or to resolve specific business problems. This included influencing or motivating individuals. 
  5. None of the above.


* 12.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 13.Select all of the activities that describe the written communication skills you have used as a regular part of your job.
  1. I have drafted papers, reports, correspondence and other written materials for review and signature by higher level officials.
  2. I have developed written materials for briefings, meetings, and/or conferences.
  3. I have drafted policy and procedural materials for dissemination.
  4. None of the above.


* 14.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 15.Select the statement that best describes your highest level of experience producing and managing correspondence, reports and written justifications as a regular part of your job.
  1. I have received training for this task, either on the job or through formal classes, but have not yet performed it on the job.
  2. I have produced correspondence, reports and justifications, but had my work reviewed by a supervisor or coworker.
  3. I have been authorized to sign correspondence, reports and justifications.
  4. I have reviewed correspondence, reports and justifications prepared by subordinates or coworkers.
  5. None of the above.


* 16.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 17.Please select all of the following that you have performed as a regular part of your job.
  1. I have developed presentations for the purpose of presenting to senior level management.
  2. I have written classification advisories to senior level officials.
  3. None of the above.


* 18.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 19.Have you had experience independently preparing documents for high level officials?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 20.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 21.Select all of the following that describe your experience leading teams when responding to customer service problems resulting from catastrophic events, such as system failure or power outages.
  1. I have consulted with other experts in other specialty areas to develop integrated action plans, including issuing technical bulletins to inform customers of problems and to instruct them to take necessary actions.
  2. I have developed and updated customer policies and procedures to ensure appropriate responses to future incidents of a similar nature.
  3. I have kept abreast of changes in customer mission requirements through interaction with management in a customer organization.
  4. I have initiated service modifications to meet changing information technology requirements.
  5. None of the above.


* 22.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 23.Which management functions have you performed in work units, team assignments, or programs that you have led or were assigned senior responsibility?
  1. Determined customer expectations and planned the scope, content, and schedule
  2. Set goals, milestones, and expectations
  3. Developed, defended, updated, and executed program project budgets
  4. Planned work assignments to be assigned to project team members
  5. Assigned tasks and responsibilities to project team members
  6. Reviewed completed work for technical adequacy and timeliness
  7. Followed up with project team members to assure milestones are met
  8. Provided instruction to staff to achieve desired results
  9. Assessed and implemented training plans for others
  10. None of the above


* 24.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 25.Do you have experience in supervising and/or leading a group in the completion of a project?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 26.If you answered 'Yes' to the above question, please briefly provide additional information as to the nature of your role as a supervisor or leader. (e.g. Did you set expectations for your group or did you assess their performance in the completion of the project?) If you answered 'No' above, please enter 'NA'.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 27.In which of the following subjects would you describe yourself as an ‘expert’?
  1. Leading employees
  2. Project management
  3. Budget preparation
  4. Contract management
  5. Facility management
  6. Property management
  7. None of the above


* 28.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 29.Are you formally trained in the use of project management principles, methods, and tools for developing, scheduling, coordinating and managing facility-related projects and resources, including costs, work and contractor performance?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 30.If you answered ‘Yes’ above, list all formal project management training you have completed, including the date the training completed. If you have not had this type of training, type ‘NA’ and proceed.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 31.Which of the following information technology (IT) concepts do you have experience applying?
  1. Emerging technologies and their applications to business processes
  2. Ensuring the integration of IT programs and services
  3. Interrelationships of multiple IT specialties
  4. None of the above


* 32.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 33.Of the following areas, which do you have experience dealing with practices and procedures for implementing?
  1. Support Center Operations Management (i.e, Service Delivery Methods, Service Management Systems)
  2. Incident Management
  3. Problem Management
  4. Configuration Management
  5. None of the above


* 34.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 35.Which of the following activities have you performed as a regular part of your job?
  1. Investigated, documented and resolved customer outages in a Helpdesk environment
  2. Developed standard operating procecures (SOWs) and work instructions for activities performed in a Helpdesk
  3. Developed communication and/or training plans for IT Projects
  4. Developed and implemented a Quality Assuance plan within a Helpdesk environment
  5. None of the above


* 36.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 37.Which of the following data management and privacy planning activities have you performed as a regular part of your job?
  1. Apply federal privacy law and policies, practices and principles in the delivery of all information technology and data managment services
  2. Plan and coordinate an office or department-wide implementation of data management and privacy controls strategies
  3. Develop data management and classification procedures
  4. Develop statements of work (SOWs) and perform proposal evaluations in support of procurements of information security technologies
  5. None of the above


* 38.In reference to the question(s) above regarding oral communications, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 39.Select the response that best describes your experience in establishing and monitoring performance measures to assess the effectiveness, efficiency, and progress of subordinates in meeting the work unit’s plans, goals, and objectives.
  1. I have not had experience, education, or training in performing this task.
  2. I have completed formal education or training in performing this task, but have not yet performed this task on the job.
  3. I have performed this task on the job under close supervision by a supervisor, manager, or senior employee to ensure compliance with correct procedures.
  4. I have performed this task as a regular part of a job, independently and usually without review by supervisor, manager or senior employee.
  5. This task has been a central or major part of my work. I have performed it myself routinely, and I have trained others in performance of this task and (or) others have consulted me as an expert for assistance in performing this task.


* 40.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 41.From the following list of management responsibilities, please identify those that best reflect your experience motivating, leading, and providing structure to complete work projects.
  1. Held employees accountable to fulfill the critical elements identified in their performance plan
  2. Facilitated the resolution of competing or conflicting interests among co-workers whose cooperation was essential to the success of a project
  3. Provided direction, guidance or instruction to members of inter-disciplinary teams charged with carrying out policies or agency decision
  4. Used consensus-building techniques to persuade representatives of groups that held opposing views or positions, to reach agreement on important issues
  5. Diffused confrontational events involving people who were difficult, or distressed
  6. Maintain accountability, fairness, and consistency when enforcing established program policies and standards in the workplace
  7. In a leadership capacity, created an atmosphere for teamwork, cooperation, and productivity that had positive impact
  8. None of the above


* 42.In reference to the question(s) above regarding written communication, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 43.Have you completed course work or formal training on leadership or managing others?
  1. Yes
  2. No


* 44.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.


* 45.In which of the following areas have you had experience communicating verbally regarding administrative and/or human resources issues:
  1. Sharing knowledge with co-workers and supervisors
  2. Providing advice to employees and managers
  3. Providing advice and recommendations to high level officials
  4. Accurately providing information concerning human resources and administrative policy to employees
  5. Participating in meetings representing the policies, guidelines and initiatives of the Office Director
  6. Participating in meetings with a group of administrative representatives to discuss new or changing initiatives
  7. None of the above


* 46.In reference to the question above, please indicate the time frame and employer(s) in your resume that supports your answer(e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy). Enter NA if not applicable.
Maximum length of 250 characters.






Privacy Policy |  Ethics |  Open Government Initiative |  Accessibility |  No Fear Act

Disclaimers |  Webmaster |  Continuity of Operations Plan (COOP) |  USA.gov |  Adobe Reader

For Help or Information: JOBS@FERC.gov