Skip to main content

Grade: 11

1 Choose one answer that best describes your education and/or experience as it pertains to the basic requirements for this position. Answer to this question is required
  • I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-9 level as described below.
  • I possess a Ph.D. or equivalent doctoral degree.
  • I possess 3 full years of progressively higher level graduate education leading to a Ph.D. or equivalent doctoral degree.
  • I do not meet any of the requirements as described above.
Experience in addressing moderately complex fisheries issues.
2 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
3 Which response best describes the highest level of your knowledge of fish passage technologies and flow-setting techniques? Answer to this question is required
  • I have knowledge of fish passage technologies or flow setting techniques.
  • I do not have knowledge of fish passage technologies or flow setting techniques.
4 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
5 Which response best describes the highest level of your knowledge of water quality tolerance of resident and anadromous fishes (including temperature, dissolved oxygen, and dissolved gases)? Answer to this question is required
  • I have extensive knowledge of the water quality tolerance of resident and anadromous fishes.
  • I have knowledge of the water quality tolerance of resident and anadromous fishes.
  • I have limited knowledge of the water quality tolerance of resident and anadromous fishes.
  • I have no knowledge of the water quality tolerance requirements of fishes.
6 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
7 Which statement best describes your experience preparing input to environmental documents, such as environmental assessments and environmental impact statements? Answer to this question is required
  • I have prepared input to environmental documents in an academic setting.
  • I have assisted others with preparing input to environmental documents in a work setting.
  • I have independently prepared input to environmental documents in a work setting.
  • I do not have experience preparing input to environmental documents.
8 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
9 Have you participated in discussions on environmental issues at public meetings or conferences? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
10 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required

Grade: 12

1 Select the choice that best describes your specialized experience. Answer to this question is required
  • I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-11 level as described below.
  • I do not have one full year of specialized experience equivalent to the definition as described below.
Experience in addressing complex applied fisheries issues.
2 Which response best describes the highest level of your knowledge of fish passage technologies and flow-setting techniques, including Instream Flow Incremental Metholdology (IFIM)? Answer to this question is required
  • I have knowledge of fish passage technologies and flow setting techniques including IFIM.
  • I have knowledge of fish passage technologies or flow setting techniques.
  • None of the above.
3 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
4 Do you have knowledge of the statutory requirements related to hydropower authorization, as they pertain to aquatic resources? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
5 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
6 Which response best describes your experience with conducting analyses and making recommendations related to habitats for marine fish, freshwater resident fish, and/or anadromous fish? Answer to this question is required
  • I have conducted analyses and made recommendations related to fish habitat needs for professional applications.
  • I have conducted analyses and made recommendations related to fish habitat needs, but only through coursework or other training.
  • I have conducted analyses but I have not made recommendations related to fish habitat needs.
  • None of the above.
7 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
8 Which response best describes the highest level of your knowledge of water quality tolerance of resident and anadromous fishes (including temperature, dissolved oxygen, and dissolved gases)? Answer to this question is required
  • I have extensive knowledge of the water quality tolerance of resident and anadromous fishes.
  • I have knowledge of the water quality tolerance of resident and anadromous fishes.
  • I have limited knowledge of the water quality tolerance of resident and anadromous fishes.
  • I have no knowledge of the water quality tolerance requirements of fishes.
9 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
10 Choose the response that best describes your highest level of experience preparing environmental documents: Answer to this question is required
  • I have independently prepared input to environmental assessments, environmental impact statements, or other professional or published environmental documents.
  • I have prepared input to environmental documents for projects under the supervision of senior staff or a supervisor.
  • I have training in the preparation of environmental documents, but have not performed this task on the job.
  • I have no experience in this area.
11 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
12 Choose the response that describes your experience with multidisciplinary teams that prepare environmental documents: Answer to this question is required
  • I have been a member of a multidisciplinary team consisting of environmental specialists that prepared environmental documents.
  • I have made environmental recommendations to a team leader.
  • None of the above
13 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
14 Do you have experience communicating fisheries information at public meetings? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
15 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters.

Grade: 13

1 Select the choice that best describes your specialized experience. Answer to this question is required
  • I have one full year (52 weeks) or more of specialized experience equivalent in responsibility and scope to the GS-12 level as described below.
  • I do not have one full year of specialized experience equivalent to the definition as described below.
Experience in addressing fisheries issues associated with the processing of hydropower development applications.
2 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
3 Which response best describes the highest level of your knowledge of fish passage technologies and flow-setting techniques, including Instream Flow Incremental Methodology (IFIM), and your experience making recommendations related to fish passage technologies and flow-setting techniques for resident freshwater and anadromous fish? Answer to this question is required
  • I have knowledge of fish passage technologies and flow setting techniques (including IFIM), and I have made recommendations related to fish passage technologies or flow setting techniques for resident freshwater or anadromous fish.
  • I have knowledge of fish passage technologies and flow setting techniques but I have not made recommendations related to fish passage technologies or flow setting techniques.
  • I have knowledge of fish passage technologies or flow setting techniques but I have not made recommendations related to fish passage technologies or flow setting techniques.
  • None of the above.
4 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
5 Which response best describes your experience with conducting analyses and making recommendations related to habitats for marine fish, freshwater resident fish, and/or anadromous fish? Answer to this question is required
  • I have conducted analyses and made recommendations related to fish habitat needs for professional applications.
  • I have conducted analyses and made recommendations related to fish habitat needs, but only through coursework or other training.
  • I have conducted analyses but I have not made recommendations related to fish habitat needs.
  • None of the above.
6 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
7 Do you have experience with the federal regulations relating to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission's licensing process for authorizing hydropower projects? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
8 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
9 Choose the response that best describes your highest level of experience preparing environmental documents: Answer to this question is required
  • I have independently prepared input to environmental assessments, environmental impact statements, or other professional or published environmental documents.
  • I have prepared input to environmental documents for projects under the supervision of senior staff or a supervisor.
  • I have training in the preparation of environmental documents, but have not performed this task on the job.
  • I have no experience in this area.
10 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
11 Have you independently reviewed environmental documents prepared by co-workers, contractors, applicants, or other agencies and provided guidance on technical issues and established policies and procedures with little supervision or guidance from senior staff. Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
12 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
13 Which response best describes your experience organizing and leading meetings and conferences with attorneys, engineers, local state and federal agencies, applicant representatives, affected landowners, and other stakeholders to gain information and provide assistance in fisheries issues? Answer to this question is required
  • I have experience organizing meetings and conferences with attorneys; local state and federal agencies; applicant representatives; affected landowners; and other stakeholders to gain fisheries information and provide assistance in resolving fisheries issues.
  • I have experience participating in meetings and conferences with attorneys; local state and federal agencies; applicant representatives; affected landowners; and other stakeholders to gain fisheries information and provide assistance in resolving fisheries issues.
  • I have participated in meetings and conferences with stakeholders.
  • I have no experience in this area.
14 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
15 Do you have experience communicating fisheries information at public meetings? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
16 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
17 Do you have knowledge of the statutory requirements related to hydropower authorization, as they pertain to aquatic resources? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
18 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
19 Which response best describes your experience with conducting analyses and making recommendations related to water quality tolerance for resident and anadromous fishes (including temperature, dissolved oxygen, and dissolved gases)? Answer to this question is required
  • I have conducted water quality analyses, and I have made recommendations related to water quality tolerance for resident and anadromous fishes.
  • I have conducted water quality tolerance analyses, but I have not made recommendations related to water quality tolerance for resident and anadromous fishes.
  • I have no experience with conducting analyses or making recommendatations related to water quality tolerance for resident and anadromous fishes.
20 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
21 Do you have experience administering the statutory requirements related to hydropower authorization, as they pertain to aquatic resources? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
22 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
23 Do you have knowledge of the federal regulations relating to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission's licensing process for authorizing hydropower projects? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
24 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
25 Choose the response that describes your experience with multidisciplinary teams that prepare environmental documents: Answer to this question is required
  • I have experience leading and coordinating multidisciplinary teams (including environmental specialists) that have prepared environmental documents; I have led discussions on environmental issues at public meetings; and I have led teams in making environmental recommendations.
  • I have been a member of a multidisciplinary team consisting of environmental specialists that have prepared environmental documents; I have participated in discussions on environmental issues at public meetings; and I have made recommendations to the team leader.
  • I have been a member of an environmental team that prepared environmental documents.
  • None of the above
26 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
27 Have you independently presented moderately complex fisheries information to supervisors and at least one of the following groups: landowners, governmental organizations, agencies, or industry? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
28 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required

Grade: All Grades

1 I understand submission of supporting documentation, e.g., transcripts, DD 214, SF-50, may be required for this position. I also understand that my application will not be considered if the required supporting documentation is not submitted or is not submitted in accordance with the time frames indicated in the announcement. Answer to this question is required
  • True
  • False
2 Select the option that best reflects how you first became aware of this position. Answer to this question is required
  • At a college job fair or professional organizational event
  • Referral from a professional organization
  • College placement office
  • Referral from a state or local agency
  • OPM 's USAJOBS job board
  • Internet job board (other than USAJOBS)
  • Magazine or newspaper advertisement
  • Referral from another Federal agency or Federal employee
  • Other
3 Do you meet the basic educational requirement for Fish Biologist as described in vacancy announcement? Answer to this question is required
  • Yes
  • No
4 Which response best describes the highest level of your knowledge of the fish habitat requirements for marine fish, freshwater resident fish, and/or anadromous fish? Answer to this question is required
  • I have extensive knowledge of the fish habitat requirements of fishes.
  • I have knowledge of the fish habitat requirements of fishes.
  • I have limited knowledge of the fish habitat requirements of fishes.
  • None of the above.
5 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
6 Which response best describes the highest level of your knowledge of the life history requirements of fishes (including marine, anadromous, and freshwater resident fish)? Answer to this question is required
  • I have extensive knowledge of the life history requirements of fish, including at least two of the following: marine fish, freshwater resident fish, and/or anadromous fish.
  • I have knowledge of the life history requirements of fish, including at least two of the following: marine fish, freshwater resident fish, and/or anadromous fish.
  • I have knowledge of the life history requirements of fish, including at least one of the following: marine fish, freshwater resident fish, and/or anadromous fish.
  • None of the above.
7 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
8 Which actions have you performed when completing a written document? Answer to this question is required
  • Submitted a document that I drafted for review.
  • Added additional information to a document that someone else wrote.
  • Edited someone else’s written document for clarity, interpretation, and tone.
  • Edited someone else’s written document for spelling, grammar, and thought organization.
  • Reviewed someone else’s written document for fact and / or data accuracy.
  • None of the above
9 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
10 Choose the response(s) that describes your experience working on a team or as a team leader: Answer to this question is required
  • I have had experience leading a multi-disciplinary team on projects or studies.
  • I have had experience as a team leader responsible for formulating the goals and objectives of the team, and for planning, organizing, and coordinating work tasks.
  • I have had experience as a team leader responsible for setting work priorities and defining critical work paths.
  • I have had experience as a team member with some responsibility for monitoring performance and implementation of projects and studies to meet goals and objectives related to the organization's mission.
  • I have had experience working on a team that independently handled problems without direct supervision or where there were no existing guidelines.
  • I have had experience working on a team and handling problems under direct supervision or where there were established guidelines.
  • None of the above.
11 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
12 What types of information do you have experience presenting orally? Answer to this question is required
  • Technical information
  • Non-technical information
  • Results of assessments and investigations
  • Recommendations
  • Policies or procedures
  • None of the above
13 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required
14 Select responses that describe your experience related to oral communication. Answer to this question is required
  • I have communicated information to groups or individuals in order to instruct or lead.
  • I have communicated information to groups or individuals in order to persuade / negotiate.
  • I have conducted informal training to others on an individual basis.
  • I have conducted informal training to groups
  • None of the above
15 In reference to the question above, please provide a brief statement (maximum length of 250 characters) that supports your answer and identify time frame(s) and employer(s) in your resume (e.g. 12/10/90 - 2/4/93 Department of Energy) that indicates where and when you used this skill or knowledge. Enter NA if not applicable. Maximum length of 250 characters. Answer to this question is required